For Love of Mikkey

 

We are head over heels in love with little Mikkey.

Chihuahuas are not supposed to be like this.  He is almost 90% paper trained.  He gets all of his #1’s on the paper and most of the #2’s.  I had read that this breed was notoriously difficult to pottie train.  Not Mikkey.

And he was SO easy to teach not to bite.  He will mouth fingers, but no more biting!

I took him to the vet Tuesday.  He loved everyone and didn’t bark once.  He did pee when the receptionist picked him up, though.  Otherwise it was just wriggly, wagging tail greetings to everyone.  He did let out a shriek when the vet stuck him with a needle, but was friends with her again as soon as she petted him.

The only time he barks is when he is playing with his toys.  He barks, butt high in the air and head low in his play stance.   Ron stomped at him in fun yesterday and Mikkey barked 3 times at him.  Ron has agreed not to play with him that way again.  We don’t want any aggression or fear to develop.

mikkey2

He is a quiet little dog!  And so loving!  He is the world’s most wonderful lap dog — my dream come true doggie.

I still look at Sunny’s photos and love him so dearly.  And I realized that the reason I feel like Mikkey is an extension of Sunny is because it is the same love.

He is too fast to get pictures of him in motion.  He runs like lightning.  There is no way we can beat him to the door — or anything else.  He really is Mikkey Motor!

But when he snuggles, wow.  I feel such love and absolute trust in his warm, furry little body limp in my lap while he naps.  My heart just basks in his love.

We definitely got the right dog!

It’s pretty obvious we aren’t going to be able to fulltime anytime soon.  There are just too many medical tests and stuff.  I did find out that the reason I have gained 25 pounds in 2 years is due to Hashimoto’s thyroid disease (an autoimmune condition), as well as some of my meds making me prone to weight gain.  But the thyroid condition is very common and easily controlled with thyroid hormones.

The weight gain is trickier.  I look at myself in the mirror and hardly recognize myself.  It looks like I have no choice but to go back on an ultra low carb diet.  Those of you that I’ve met in person would be shocked at how I look now.

My doctor mentioned diet pills, but I declined.  Everyone I know who has ever taken them loses weight fast, then it rebounds worse than ever when they go off them.  But at least I’m willing to discuss it now.

But none of that matters when I’m snuggled up with my Mikkey.  🙂

Oh, the cataract operation on my left eye is scheduled for September 9.  I’ll be so glad to get that done.  Being able to see perfectly out of one eye and half blind in the other is annoying and causes headaches.

 

 

Previous Post
Next Post

23 Comments

  1. Wow, you got lucky….Chi’s usually ARE really hard to housebreak! My theory is that they pee such a teeny bit, people aren’t as worried about catching them in the act, or avoiding it, as they would be with a Great Dane puppy,for instance. LOL!! Be sure to keep socializing him and taking him out to meet all kinds of people & situations. Sounds like you got a real winner though, lucky for you two AND Mikkey! Glad you got some answers on the weight thing…..difficult though it will be.

    • The socializing is critical, I know! I am a little hesitant to take him too many places until he has all his shots. He got bordatello last time and has had a couple of parvos to go.

      The only reason I took a chance on a chihuahua is that I met another long coat while out camping in Florida. She was friendly and enjoyed letting me pet her. So I knew it was possible to get one like that. I just didn’t expect one as easy as Mikkey!

  2. The Ultimate Anti Aging Program, a book by Dr Gary Null.
    I lost 50 pounds the first year and became much healthier. Algeries and breathing machine stopped. Gave me a better next 15 years.
    I was a big skeptic but Dr said just try it for a month and if I didn’t like it to go back to being sick. At the end of the first month I could not believe the unexpected results.
    Just a thought Sharon.

  3. Gail Page

     /  August 29, 2015

    Awwwwwww!!! What a little blessing! 

  4. So cute! Great to have a cuddler! ;-> I’ve found some wonderful YouTube exercises for my sciatica. After almost three years . . . it’s making a difference! PM me if you want to know what they are. I don’t want to be a pest.

    Virtual hugs,

    Judie

    • Judie, I’d love to see them, but I don’t know how to pm on my phone and the battery on my laptop is too low to use.

      I’ll pm you tomorrow when my laptop is charged. TIA!

  5. I’ll be here! ;->

  6. Funny that you nearly have to wait for Mikkey to be sleeping in order to take his photo. All that puppy energy…..it’s wonderful, but I’ve always been so happy to have my dogs graduate from that stage. When I had Black Labs, I swear they were puppies until they were three!

    Weight gain can be pretty discouraging. And why is it so hard to lose weight, anyway? I’m amazed, that with all of our technology, we don’t have a simple, safe weight loss pill available. But I know you’ll get your arms around it – you are a very determined, resourceful woman.

    Life will be better after Sept. 9. Hang in there.

    • Sheba was an Aussie/Lab, So I understand about their being puppies for a LONG time! I think it will be over a lot sooner with Mikkey.

      And there is a new consideration with him, too. We have hawks, owls, big dogs running loose, and coyotes around here. So we can’t let him “go out and play” except when we have him on a leash. Fortunately our house is big enough for him to get enough exercise tearing around inside it.

      Your encouragement warms my heart — as always. 🙂

  7. Sounds like you hit the jackpot! Trust the eye surgery goes well and you heal quickly.

  8. Sweet little lap dog. I recommend My Fitness Pal. It’s a free app I’ve used daily for almost 3 years for weight control. Getting the thyroid under control will help too.

    • I have an old account with My Fitness Pal. I’ll take it out of mothballs and put it to use again!

  9. love, patience and persistance…but mainly love….and he is the perfect size for a little camper.

    • He is so easy to be patient with. Maybe it’s his tiny size. I can’t forget that he really is still a baby.

      And the love–that’s the easiest part! It’s automatic!

  10. Jo

     /  August 30, 2015

    I feel all this puppy love. Glad it is working out so well for all concerned. Yes being able to see so well in one eye will be double good out of 2.
    Going to look into this book too. I have gained so much weight and now with all these problems I really feel awful. Tomorrow I go for the Nuclear Bone Scan and CT Scan lets see what they find.

    • All the best wishes that your scan pinpoints the problems so they can be treated. You are always going and doing, so I hate to think of you not feeling up to par.

  11. Good to know that you are immersed in so much love! Enjoy!
    We are going to be without our kitties soon. Praying for wonderful homes to materialize.

    Hope all your medical issues resolve perfectly.

    • Lynne, it’s the most amazing feeling, just feeling love and warmth saturate my heart.

      I really am surprised you have kept the kitties this long. Their loyalty is mainly to places and they are usually frightful travel companions. I did have a Siamese back in the 70’s who loved car trips and seeing new people and places. But that is very rare for a cat.

      We had to find a new home for two cats after we started traveling in a camper. They would go wild in the camper after a couple of days. Would tear the interior up and yowl incessantly even when I had a big portable kennel for them that I put outside on the picnic tables so they could see what was going on.

      So know that at least one person understands perfectly, and you are doing the right thing for yourself and them.

