Gnarly Old Trees

palmetto growing in tree fork

This is the first time I have seen a palmetto growing in a tree fork.

 

The trees here at Magnolia Park fascinate me.  Such noble old great-grandfather trees with fantastic stories to tell if only we could understand tree language.  These trees are so individualistic.  It’s almost like they ought to have names — like Joseph, Methusela, Luther and Eugene.  Oh, and Harold!  😀

This tree is a gigantic flower pot for ferns.

This tree is a gigantic flower pot for ferns.

The day use park and campground were full of little children today.  They are so cute and so much fun to watch.  It is especially sweet to see a shy little girl trying to scrunch up her courage to pet Sheba.  Sheba bounces, but rarely actually jumps up on them now.  The kids are always amazed at her soft, silky fur.

I have almost floated through the day… so happy for the gift of being here!  Other than being happy and grilling yummy pork chops tonight, it’s a slow news day!

This tree needs to have a tire swing hung from it.

This tree needs to have a tire swing hung from it.

A see-through tree

A see-through tree

Sextuplets.  5 still living.  :)

Sextuplets. 5 still living. 🙂

A long, skinny split

A long, skinny split

Quintuplets

Quintuplets

This tree has had extensive surgery.

This tree has had extensive surgery.

Only the palms are straight.

Only the palms are straight.

 

 

12 Comments

  1. mf

     /  January 17, 2015

    Thank you so much for your beautiful pictures! Your commentary is wonderful, too. You are a breath of fresh air in an overwhelmingly negative blogosphere! THANK YOU!

  2. happytrailsga

     /  January 17, 2015

    I could feel your happiness and contentment in your blog today!! So happy for you 🙂
    We have stayed close to home because of our Casey (18 yr old Shih Tzu) but quite honestly I think she would do ok in the camper. We just couldn’t travel long days…she can’t do that. I so want to get out and enjoy!! You encourage me because you also have an elderly doggie and you guys are managing. I guess i just worry about something happening to her on the road…what would we do?? I worry too much!!

    I bet those children really loved petting Sheba!! Love your pics today!!

    • Gerri, we still can’t believe we are here! I never would have thought Ron and I (and two dogs) could do so well in a Casita this long, but it has been great.

      Sunny does get very anxious when he is in the truck. It started a couple of years ago when he apparently became afraid that a truck ride meant a visit to the vet. And it just progressed from there. However he does love the trailer and feels safe in it. It’s “home.” (Except when we go off and leave him.) He used to be very well behaved when we were gone, but now he goes ballistic. He even got us reported for leaving an animal in distress in the trailer when we were at Suwannee River State Park. So it’s a balancing act for us with him.

      Maybe I’m overly optimistic, but I have a list of Sunny’s meds and feel confident that a good animal hospital down here could do just as well as his vet in Georgia if we ran into an emergency.

  3. happytrailsga

     /  January 18, 2015

    Thanks Sharon, I needed that! Casey has her meds as well and I know you are right…a vet can be found most anywhere and whatever would happen in the Casita would probably happen at home as well. I feel the same way about my health issue as well. None of the Jones family is getting any younger so we need to live while we can!! Thanks my friend, I needed that encouragement!!
    I am so glad you and Ron have had such a wonderful time in the Casita…it makes me so happy to just hear you talk about it. Mike and I have even thought about full-timing for a couple of years (yes, in the Casita) and then settle wherever our son and DIL are at that time. Something to ponder!!
    Have a great weekend!!

    • Gerri, none of us can bank on another year. What we have is today — for us and our critters.

      One thing that helps me is that, even though I have COPD and other conditions, I carry a printout from my doctor with my diagnoses and the medications I am on. So even if I were unconscious, new doctors would have a good idea of what is going on with me. I also wear a medical bracelet with diagnosis and allergies on it.

      There is usually a hospital or a walk-in clinic fairly convenient to most of the places we camp, and campgrounds usually give you a paper with emergency numbers to call if needed.

      I can see how it would be possible to happily full time in a Casita if one had the right mind set, and I think we do, too.

      I hope you do decide to go for making use of your sweet little Casita! :).

  4. Tree spirits. Gnarly old trees are great.

  5. What fantastic pictures of fantastic trees. Like the captions you gave them all too.

    • Jo, I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures. Weirdly shaped trees are the norm here. I kind of wonder why.

  6. Horst

     /  January 19, 2015

    Just got a chance to read your last three posts…what a magnificent adventure…seems you two are really making the most out of this trip…to include all the small and “gnarly” things…. 🙂 … things one usually does not notice…its the ultimate adventure…thanks for sharing…Horst sends

    • I suppose “It’s a small world” fits our style of camping. Glad you appreciated it. 🙂

