Last Day at Suwannee

These tree roots by the river look like modern art sculptures to me.

These tree roots by the river look like modern art sculptures to me.

Today is our last day at Suwannee River State Park.  I grabbed my last opportunity for a long walk with Sheba on the trails.  I am amazed at how much stronger I am than when we started this trip.  I am regaining my long effortless stride that I thought I had lost forever.  I feel great!

This is a little spring that bubbles up and rushes to lose itself in the river.  :)

This is a little spring that bubbles up and rushes to lose itself in the river. 🙂

I don’t know why I retain my childlike wonder at exposed tree roots, but I find them endlessly fascinating.  So that’s what today’s post will consist of — tree roots that look to me like they are out of a fantasy novel.

We had planned to go to O’Leno State Park tomorrow and stay until Christmas Eve, then go to Gail’s new house.  But she asked Ron if he would help Mike move some of their things from storage tomorrow.  So I am delighted to head over to their place instead.

Mushrooms hiding in an eroded root cavity.

Mushrooms hiding in an eroded root cavity.

I was really afraid of wearing out my welcome by staying too long at Gail’s, but she sat me down and preached me a sermon (figuratively, not literally!) on how welcome I am and will always be at her place.

So the new plan is to go to her house tomorrow, help any way we can, and stay there until after the 1st.  Oh, yeah… and I do a beef stew tomorrow.  🙂

This giant tree's trunk was as twisted as some of the roots.

This giant tree’s trunk was as twisted as some of the roots.

I got my little Casita decorated for Christmas and I think it’s adorable!  But I’ll wait and post those pictures tomorrow.

Limestone outcroppings along the river bank.  I think that acid rain eats away the limestone base causing Florida's numerous sinkholes.

Limestone outcroppings along the river bank. I think that acid rain eats away the limestone base causing Florida’s numerous sinkholes.

More fantastic roots.

More fantastic roots.

10 Comments

  1. Great walk you had today. Your pictures are so interesting. Thanks for sharing.
    It’s nice of Gail to let you know where you stand. And yes it will be nice to be able to lend a hand in her move or at least keep the food coming. Stew sounds wonderful to build energy.

    • Jo. I’m so glad you enjoyed my odd pictures. I don’t know why I am so fascinated by those strange forms. 🙂

      Yes, it is fantastic when you are so comfortable with someone that you know you can trust what they say. And that you can be there for them when they could use some help.

  2. You all are having a great trip! Your joy is apparent. Eager to see your adorable home done up for the holidays!

    • Kim, we are so happy. We do our best to not think of ever going home, but just take each day as a beautiful gift.

      It’s hard for me to wait to post the Christmas decorations, but that will give me something to write about tomorrow. 🙂

  3. EmilyO

     /  December 17, 2014

    I am sooooo glad to hear that you are feeling so much better.

    • Thank you, Emily. I am so relieved. I have been able to put a lot of health worries behind me.

  4. Yeah! Great to have a sister who can tell you how it is!! And how nice of you to be cautious with overstepping boundaries.

    • Lynne, it is so nice not to have to walk on eggshells or second guess what someone really means. It’s just old fashioned respect and courtesy — so rare these days!

  5. Jerryc

     /  December 18, 2014

    Really like the roots. Hopefully, Gail won’t work you too hard with all the moving. Got to earn your rent; right? 🙂
    Wishing you a Very Merry Christmas season.

    • Jerry, we all played slacker today. The guys moved the beds and clothes in — then we sent them for pizza. The best laid plans…… 😀

      So we’ll start earning our keep tomorrow.

      Wishing you your best Christmas season ever!

