So Beautiful Here

This is an unretouched photo of our sunset this evening.

This is an unretouched photo of our sunset this evening.

Today was a little cool, but I was comfortable in a light sweater.  Until this evening.  Now we are inside for the night enjoying the cozy warmth of our little camper.

Ferns growing in palm tree trunk

Ferns growing in palm tree trunk

Ron and I take turns walking Sheba.  She requires so much exercise to stay happy when she has to be tied out all day.  So this way she gets double the amount of walks that she would if we walked her together.

Today I walked in a different direction than yesterday, and I found blooming pink and red hibiscus!  It was just before sunset, so the petals had curled up for the night.  Wish I could have caught them open.  But I was thrilled to see them anyway.

Pink hibiscus blossoms.  The flowers close in the evening.

Pink hibiscus blossoms. The flowers close in the evening.

Little Sunny appears to be doing better.  I think camping agrees with him.  But when we walk him, we just meander around our campsite and let him sniff trails to his heart’s content.  He can’t walk any distance.  My baby boy is now an old man, I’m afraid.  🙂

We have loved it here.  The only thing lacking are washers and dryers.  I continue to be surprised with how well designed this park is.  Even the barbeque grills are nice ones with heavy covers.

Red hibiscus blooms

Red hibiscus blooms

We had planned to go to Fore Lake tomorrow.  But since it’s supposed to rain Saturday and Sunday, we need hookups.  I doubt the solar panel would be able to keep up with our power usage without a lot of sunshine.

So we’ll head back to Ocean Pond to camp with Mike and Gail for a while again.  They found an adorable house and put in an offer today, and we want to be with them to celebrate.

American beautyberry

American beautyberry

Closeup of beautyberry

Closeup of beautyberry

Picnic area

Picnic area

 

Previous Post

25 Comments

  1. Marcia GB in MA

     /  November 19, 2014

    I am very happy to know you’re having such a great time. Heaven knows, you waited long enough and had to master a few hurdles to get there! The beauty berry is such a lovely color and it grows in an unusual way.

    How nice that Gail and Mike have found a house already. That’s something to celebrate.

    • Marcia, for a while I didn’t know if I would ever camp again. I am so happy now. And my doctor would be thrilled to see the brisk pace of my walks with Sheba.

      The house Mike and Gail found is a beautiful little home. And there is room (and no restrictions) so Mike can have a nice shop out back–and I can park my camper when we visit. That combination is not easy to find!

  2. BEAUTIFUL sunset!

  3. You’re right – it IS beautiful. Sunny is lucky to have an owner who understands his limitations, and is happy to have him around. Owning an aging pet is difficult. Sounds like you are making the best of your days together.

    • Judy, we are trying to see the world through his eyes and make every day special for him.

  4. Photos are beautiful !!

  5. The berry’s are such a beautiful color. I love hibiscus but no matter how hard I tried it was just to hot and dry here.

    • This area’s plants are all moisture loving plants. It looks almost like jungle vegetation to me.

  6. Sounds like lots of ‘things’ are real good now. That is super. Enjoy! We are having one of those very weak WIFI signals tonight!! Not enough of a signal to load pictures, bummer. Sounds like good ones too. I will have a bunch of catching up to do when we get to Quartzite in January.

    • Wayne you can’t imagine how much I am enjoying. I feel like I’ve been sprung from prison.

      I am intrigued by Quartsite. Looking forward to your perspective. 🙂

  7. That is an absolutely gorgeous sunset!!

  8. Congrats to Gail!!! Cool berry…..

  9. Happy for Gail and Mike and you! And so pleased to hear that you two are having a great time and are feeling good!

    • The good times took a long time coming. But maybe I appreciate them more now. Gail is already planning to take out a window and add french doors and a porch!

  10. Jerryc

     /  November 20, 2014

    It’s great to read of your great road trip. Lots of good locations, and time with friends. I’m still taking notes on all the campgrounds.:-)

  11. These are so beautiful! And I’m very jealous of the weather. Looks like winter has finally arrived here.

    • Hi, Jess. We’re in north Florida tonight and it’s supposed to go down to the low 20’s, but that’s still warmer than much of the country. With our crazy weather, who knows what to expect any more.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the photos! 🙂

  12. Awesome sunset photo and the others are sure vivid…nice….that phone camera sure works well!!…stay warm…Horst sends

    • Glad you approve of the phone camera, Horst. If I had gotten it first, I might not have bought the Lumix. 🙂

