Trimble Park in Orange County, FL

Our site at Trimble Park

Our site at Trimble Park

Rain and thunderstorms welcomed us to Central Florida today.  And the rain will be followed by cold — but not nearly as cold as it will be back home. The high there will be 33 degrees.  Here it will be 55.  And the rain is supposed to end tonight.

side yard

View from the curb side of the trailer

We are cocooning this evening.  We’ll pass the dreary weather reading, listening to music, and working crosswords.  I’m not sure about dinner yet, but we are only two miles from the town of Mount Dora, so maybe I can talk Ron into getting a take-out meal for us.

This park is pretty in the rain.  It should be delightful when the sun shines.

The rate for senior out-of-county residents is just $17 a day!  There are only 3 other rigs here  now.  Of course, it’s a bit muddy from the rain, but our pad is dry.

View behind our trailer

View behind our trailer

Our welcome to Central Florida

Our welcome to Central Florida

Previous Post

19 Comments

  1. Marcia GB in MA

     /  November 17, 2014

    That looks like a nice park, Sharon. I’ll put it in my notes for future reference. I hope the weather has cleared for you.
    We’re spending the month of December at Camp Venice Retreat, then we move on to the FL State and County parks, mostly near Sarasota and St. Pete for the next two months. Mid-March we head for Anastasia and Little Talbot SPs, then a week near Savannah and another in SC, then home to MA by Mid-April.

  2. Marcia, that looks like a great itinerary. I love Anastasia. Have never stayed at Little Talbot. Many years ago I stayed at Oscar Scherar and Myakka River when I was tent camping.

    It’s still raining, but is supposed to clear up tonight. We are deliberately not making plans. Will just go as we feel like it. We’ll miss out on some of the places we”d like to see that way, but will discover others.

    Would be nice if we ended up the same place sometime.

    Wishing you good weather and great times! 🙂

  3. What a cozy spot. Good place to wait out the rain and cold with crosswords. I spent the afternoon winterizing. Brrr….

    • I just checked your weather. It looks like you got the winterizing done just in time. Sorry to see that kind of cold so early.

  4. Sounds like a cozy camp! It’s funny but I rarely use my awning as a sun shade – usually, it’s to provide a dry ante-room for taking of wet boots and coats before entering the trailer on rainy days.
    I always carry a couple cans of soup for those rainy days when I don’t want to put much effort into cooking – but take out sounds even better!

    • Anne, Ron is sick now so I couldn’t send him out in the rain. So I made grilled ham and cheese sandwiches. I think I will get a few cans of soup for days like this.

  5. Looks cozy and what better way to spend the day doing crosswords. I just now the sun will come out and dry everything out.

    • Jo, it’s still drizzly this morning. So Ron is playing Spider Solitaire and I plan to catch up on email.

  6. I;m almost jealous. I said almost but not quite, we have not been in any rain in 4 months. Now a dust storm,,, hummm maybe I could use a little rain.

    Enjoy every bit of it is fun till you get back home to the 30 +/- degrees!!

    • I think I would prefer a rain storm to a dust storm! Rain or not, we are loving our escape from home.

  7. Marsha

     /  November 18, 2014

    Cocooning. Love the sound of that. Some days it’s just what you need.

  8. It’s cold and weather unfriendly everywhere! We’ve got a foot of snow here – our local ski area is having their earliest opening EVER this Saturday. 17 degrees as I write this – 55 sounds like heaven! Stay warm.

    • I guess we need nasty weather to appreciate the sheer joy of beautiful weather. YOU stay warm! 🙂

  9. Beautiful!!!!

  10. happytrailsga

     /  November 18, 2014

    What a beautiful campground and the price is great and you all nearly have it to yourselves!!! Good deal!! 🙂

    • We got a few new campers in today, but it doesn’t seem crowded at all. I was only able to get reservations for 3 nights, or we would stay longer.

