Last Day at Modoc

Last night's sunset

Last night’s sunset

We will be leaving tomorrow morning.  This is one of a small handful of our trips that I will be glad to see end.  It’s running an average of 8 degrees cooler at home.

Today is overcast and sweltering.  The people next to us had reservations through tomorrow, but they left today.

A little island out in the lake under gray skies.

A little island out in the lake under gray skies.

The only wildlife, other than birds, that we have seen here was one gray fox.  He was strangely unafraid of us, and in fact followed us for a short distance on the road a couple of times.  My first thought was rabies.  I meant to mention it to the host, but forgot.  Will try to report it on the way out tomorrow.

There were a lot of children running around over the weekend, and if it was going to cause trouble, I would have expected it to have already done so.  Ron suggested that it might have been one that someone tried to make a pet of when it was a baby, then released it when they discovered it wouldn’t domesticate.

Closeup of the island.

Closeup of the island.

In any case, it’s not normal behavior for a fox.

Anyway, our camping season is probably over until cooler weather arrives.

 

21 Comments

  1. pshermanfl

     /  June 9, 2014

    I’m so sorry that this has not been a great trip for you! As you said, lesson learned about where to camp at this time of year. I can definitely attest to the fantastic weather in western NC right now! Maybe next time head north! I think you might be right about the fox, it may be semi-tame. I sure hope that’s the explanation and not rabies….too scary. All of your photos of this trip have been so wonderful, though!

    • Yes, if we go again this summer, it will definitely be to the mountains!

      I do think the fox is semi-tame. He trotted by on the road past us this evening and just looked toward Sheba and kept going.

  2. Funny how your temperature tolerance keeps getting narrower as we age – I’ve now got such a narrow range of comfortable temperatures! Way more tolerant of it being too cold, than too warm. Hope the gray fox is just used to getting handouts, and isn’t ill. Looking forward to your next outing, already.

    • Judy, I am amazed at my decreasing tolerance for temperature differences, too. It seems like no time ago when I was waiting for the endless winter to pass so I could go camping.

      But life is too short to stay indoors summmer and winter!

  3. Very strange for a fox indeed….wouldn’t want it injuring anyone. Seems like you’ve been there forever! Can’t wait to hear what’s up next…maybe we can figure out a Fall meet up if we dont head too West!

    • Carla, I would so love to meet up with you and Jerry again! Maybe it will work. 🙂

  4. Not sure where you can camp in the Southeast in the summertime. Isn’t it hot pretty much everywhere unless you can get up several thousand feet in elevation?

    Virtual hugs,

    Judie

    • Judie, it is generally nice in the higher elevations of the NC mountains in summer.

      I think there is more to it, too, than just elevation. Because I live at around 1200 feet and it is running 8 degrees cooler than it is here (which I am guessing is close to sea level). 1000 feet alone couldn’t make that much difference.

  5. The sunset pictures are really nice. To bad the weather was so nasty. Your husband maybe right about the little fox. If it was rabies it would have been more likely to attack but still a good idea to report it. Have a safe trip home.

    • The sunsets have all been the same color as the two photos I’ve posted. It’s so beautiful. Looks almost tropical.

      Thanks for the good wishes! 🙂

  6. Marcia GB in MA

     /  June 10, 2014

    I enjoyed your interesting pics and sunsets, even if it was too beastly hot to really enjoy yourselves. Safe travels and look forward to your next trip, hopefully to a cooler spot!

    • Thanks, Marcia. We just walked in the door of the house a few minutes ago. It feels good to be home. If we go anywhere else this summer, it will be to the NC mountains. 🙂

  7. Marcia GB in MA

     /  June 10, 2014

    Sharon, I’m glad you’re home and happy. We are going up to Prince Edward Island in the Canadian Maritimes in July. It’s a beautiful place with green vistas and red sand beaches. It should be about 10 degrees cooler than it is here in MA at that time. However, the ocean water is warmer up there than it is here due to the Gulfstream. Our daughter and her family will be joining us for this camping excursion. We’re all looking forward to delicious seafood and fun times. I’ve never camped in the NC mountains but it is on our list. I’ll be anxiously awaiting your report 🙂

    • Marcia, I would LOVE to go to Prince Edward Island. And how wonderful that your daughter and her family will be joining you. I hope it is the most enjoyable camping trip ever for you!

  8. I seem to always be apologizing for running behind on my comments. We’ve been busy with this house and running to Auburn to visit the newlyweds!!!
    Your campsite looks very nice but I do so understand the heat. It seems I am less tolerable of the heat than I used to be.
    That fox would have worried me a bit. Just not normal for wild animals to want to be around humans.
    Hey, tomorrow we take the Casita to Columbus to Coachcraft by McDonald to have our awning installed. They have talked with Victor and feel confident they know what to do. They work on Bluebird Motorhomes. We just couldn’t get to Texas and we want/need an awning!!! Can’t wait!!!! 🙂
    Take care my friend…promise I will be more timely!!

    • Gerri, I think you will really enjoy that awning. We love ours and I can’t imagine being without it!

      It is so reassuring to hear that Coachcraft talked with Victor about how to install the awning. I just love Victor. I’ve never met him in person, but have talked with him on the phone a couple of times. He IS Casita to me! 🙂

  9. Sorry about the heat, but the photo’s you took showed a great place to camp…weather permitting!…That Island looked interesting….glad you got home safe…NC Mountains…that area does have some super Vistas….take care…cool down and give us some of those great receipes 🙂 ….Horst sends

  10. Hi. I saw your picture of dandelion galls in your posting of June 10, 2013. I study galls and have been looking for dandelion galls for years. Can you tell me where you found them. Thank you!!

  11. I want a little island like that! 🙂

    • It looks like a little Tom Sawyer island, doesn’t it? I’d love one, too!

