Earth Boxes, Wild Strawberries & Baby Fig Trees

Wild strawberries are just about through fruiting for the year.

Wild strawberries are just about through fruiting for the year.

The invasive, tasteless Indian strawberries seem to fruit all season.  Their job seems to be to take over the wild strawberries' habitat, and they are doing a good job of it, unfortunately.

The invasive, tasteless Indian strawberries seem to fruit all season. Their job seems to be to take over the wild strawberries’ habitat, and they are doing a good job of it, unfortunately.

The rain has been so dependable that I haven’t had to water anything yet this year.  Both the things I planted and the wild things I didn’t are thriving.

We have been eating salad from our Earth Boxes for several days.  All of the lettuces are going strong.  I did have to pull up the radicchio because it bolted and turned too bitter.  It certainly was beautiful, though.

The patio tomatoes are fruiting, and the bell peppers have little peppers on them.

I planted cilantro and marigolds in two empty Earth Boxes.  I also have green clumping onions planted in one.

I have put off doing anything with the square foot gardens because my heart is just not into it.

Lettuce

Lettuce

Life is in a holding pattern until our next trip, it seems.  🙂

Little Gem lettuce starting to head.

Little Gem lettuce starting to head.

Baby romaine

Baby romaine

Patio tomatoes in Earth Box

Patio tomatoes in Earth Box

Baby  bell peppers

Baby bell peppers

 

The cold spring killed the fig trees, but new shoots are coming up from the base of the trees.

The cold spring killed the fig trees, but new shoots are coming up.

 

 

 

Previous Post

15 Comments

  1. The garden looks wonderful! Lots of fresh salad in your future. 🙂

    • Thanks, John. It’s amazing how much food you can produce in those planters. 🙂

  2. Your strawberry photos are great. We’re eating Michigan asparagus already, and a few salad greens, but not much else (yet).

    • Is Michigan asparagus wild asparagus? I’ve looked for it but haven’t found it here. I found a patch of what I thought were last year’s dead stalks, but couldn’t find that spot again! 🙂

      • I’m sure there is some wild asparagus around – have seen some of the tall fronds while on bike rides. Never pixked any, myself. But, I was referring to the abundance at the farmers’ markets right now. Fat stalks, skinny stalks…..all wonderful.

        • Finding a gorgeous bunch of fresh asparagus at a farmers’ market is as exciting as finding a bunch in the wild — almost! And a lot more reliable!

  3. I am so pleased to hear that your fig tree is sending up shoots! My sister just informed me that her fig is doing the same thing. Must check mine tomorrow! And enjoyed seeing the vegetable photos.
    We are making very slow but definite progress on the basement.

    • Lynne, I was so thrilled to find the new fig shoots. A fungus has almost killed our plum trees and I don’t care much about them. But I really did love my fig trees! Hope yours will present you with a happy surprise!

      I am so relieved to hear that you are making progress on the basement. That sure looked like a daunting task to me!

  4. Bonnie

     /  May 24, 2014

    Wow are you ahead of my………….Just put mine in yesterday. Ha ha. Those Indian strawberries are really tasteless? I don’t think we have them up north. They look good though. Then again most produce here at the stores are horrible, times have changed. Well thanks for the update, look forward to your next.
    Bonnie

    • Hi, Bonnie. Yes, the Indian strawberries are very bland and totally tasteless. They are edible and they will provide nutrients, but I would have to be pretty hungry to want to eat them. I guess you could put some in a salad and cover them with dressing. 😀

      I can’t believe produce prices! It used to be so cheap–and it used to be grown locally. Now most of ours is from who knows where. Having a garden makes good sense. I wish I could get enthused enough to plant a real garden like I used to do.

  5. Your so lucky to have such a great veggie garden going. the strawberry’s look so good.
    Just think by time you leave again your garden will be just about done.

    Glad the fig tree is coming back what a nice surprise for you

  6. Sounds and looks like some really healthy eating that you are growing!!!! Everything looks so healthy and green!! So glad your fig tree made it and is sending up fig shoots!!! YAY!!

    • I am REALLY looking forward to future fig preserves again! 🙂

  7. Horst

     /  May 26, 2014

    Terrific garden!!!…I prefer planters…we use 4 or 5 barrels for veggie garden…works well for us….I never heard of Indian Strawberries…do they use them for jams/jellies???…Happy to hear the Fig Tree survived…Have a Super week….Horst sends

