FDR State Park

our big pull through site

Our big pull through site at FDR State Park

I can’t put my finger on exactly why, but I loved camping at FDR better than I did at the more beautiful and spacious Amity Campground.  It’s odd because Amity had huge, expansive water views, while FDR’s lake is more like a large pond.

Lakeside tent sites

Lakeside tent sites

FDR is old, and maybe that’s why I like it so much.  It has a comfortably worn, down home feeling about it.  Our deeply shaded site suited us perfectly.  I felt so happy and relaxed there.

Yesterday afternoon the rain moved in, so we cocooned with games and internet until the thunderstorms started.  Then I got off the computer.

We had an '85 Scamp for a neighbor

We had an ’85 Scamp for a neighbor

Right after dinner, Sheba started whimpering like she had to go to the bathroom.  So I bundled up in rain jacket and flip flops and took her for a walk in the downpour, through the water running in the streets, while thunder boomed and lightning flashed all around us.

Sheba didn’t have to go.  She just wanted a walk.  She thoroughly enjoyed it.  And while I would never admit it to Ron, (lest I lose my martyr’s halo for walking Sheba in a storm) I also thoroughly enjoyed the walk.

The Scamp owners' son-in-law was there in an '86 Scotty.

The Scamp owners’ son-in-law was there in an ’86 Scotty.

It got cold overnight!  It went from the high 80’s on Wednesday to a damp, chilly morning in the high 50’s.  I even turned the furnace on to take the chill out of the Casita, and Ron and I both wore light jackets until around noon.

We got home around 3:00 to discover that the little veggies in my Earth Boxes are thriving.  When we drove up, Ron commented, “We can have salad for dinner!”

Blueberry flowers down by the campground bridge

Blueberry flowers down by the campground bridge

And we, of course, are already dreaming about our next trip!

Path around the lake on the cabin side

Path around the lake on the cabin side

Mountain laurel near the cabins

Mountain laurel near the cabins

Small island in the lake on the cabin side

Small island in the lake on the cabin side

Sheba watching another dog pass

Sheba watching another dog pass

 

 

 

13 Comments

  1. The blueberry flowers look almost like Lily of the Valley. That is my birth month flower, but I never cared for the scent. They do have a pleasant appearance, though.

    Virtual hugs,

    Judie

    • I planted Lily of the Valley around my hostas and impatiens this year. I haven’t checked to see if they came up since we got back earlier today. Will check them tomorrow.

  2. EmilyO

     /  May 15, 2014

    I have never seen blueberry flowers before. I remember picking blueberries off bushes back in the woods in New Hampshire when a wee little tyke; but not the flowers. Pretty ones.

    • They are pretty, Emily. We have wild blueberries that grow along our road, but they only have single flowers with sparse berries. I had to double check online to make sure that those were blueberries. There are so many different varieties!

  3. Another great camping trip. More wonderful pictures. The little flowers on the berry bush are so cute and I remember a flower similar to them but don’t remember that they were called Lily of the Valley? But that was a 100 yrs ago. LOL

  4. Horst

     /  May 16, 2014

    I’m thinking next Spring I’ll spend time in the area as I head to see grandkids…thanks for all the info…and I’m glad you and Ron enjoyed yourselves….that’s what’s important!!!!..Horst sends

    • Horst, I hope you enjoy it nearly as much as we did. And I’ll sure look forward to reading about it on your blog. It’s about time you got to get out on the road and stretch your travel legs again!

  5. MarciaGB

     /  May 16, 2014

    Sounds and looks like a happy trip! Here’s hoping you get out again soon. Six weeks home from Florida, I’m feeling the itch again myself 🙂

    • Marcia, I am still basking in the afterglow. I went out to the Casita a couple of times today and the atmosphere of peace and contentment lingers in there. If I had a way to dump my tanks I’d probably move into the trailer! 🙂

      Six weeks — you are overdue for a good case of hitch itch! Hope you can get out again really soon!

  6. Awww, you camped in our “home.” Yes, we call FDR our home for many reasons. We were camp hosts there 3 times. In fact, I know exactly where you all camped and the host was right across from you. We hosted in that spot twice and in area 5 once. It is special to us for sure. I am so glad you all liked and enjoyed it.
    It is so good to get home and find everything is alive and thriving!!!

    • Gerri, I thought of you several times while we were there. Maybe next time we will be able to meet up.

      I am so happy about your beautiful new daughter and I am hoping that theirs will be a very happy, life-long marriage! 🙂

  7. Just catching up with you, again. Beautiful campground, and fresh salad can’t be beat.

