Thunderstorms Today

shoreline

Sunny is getting old.  He can’t keep up with me when we go walking anymore.  So today I left Sheba with Ron and took a gentle stroll with Sunny along the shoreline, letting him take all the time he wanted to sniff and explore while I took pictures.

Blackberries and hairy ragwort.

Blackberries and hairy ragwort.

I always wonder how much more time we have with him, so I want to let him pack all the doggie adventure in that he can in his remaining time.

Shortly after we returned from our walk, the thunderstorms moved in.

The variety of plant life around the lake is amazing.  It’s pretty humbling to see how much I don’t know!

lanceleaf coreopsis (tickseed)

Lanceleaf coreopsis (tickseed)

Anyway, I’ll share some of my photos and hope you enjoy them.

 

Lyre leaved sage

Lyre leaved sage

Oxalis leaves (shamrock)

Oxalis leaves (shamrock)

Ripening blackberries

Ripening blackberries

Spiderwort

Spiderwort

Bobber caughtimus  :D

Bobber caughtimus 😀

The urge to build a kid's fort between these 4 trees was almost irrestible!

The urge to build a kid’s fort between these 4 trees was almost irrestible!

 

Lagustrum.  Not sure if its tree privet or Chinese privet.  (Or another lagustrum!)

Lagustrum. Not sure if its tree privet or Chinese privet. (Or another lagustrum!) But it’s beautiful and smells heavenly.

 

Previous Post
Next Post

19 Comments

  1. If one doesn’t have an actual comment, is there a place to just indicate that your post has been read? I can’t always think of something to say, but do read and enjoy your every post.

    Virtual hugs,

    Judie

    • Bless you, Judie. I have felt that my posts were pretty lame lately. It’s so sweet to read that you enjoy them anyway. 🙂

      • Whatever you feel strongly enough about to spend the time sharing is usually something that will resonate with this person or that at some level. If it makes you happy to see the flowers (or whatever) on your screen, that is all that is important.

        • Judie, I love the flowers… and it does absolutely delight me to see them posted on the world wide web. I know that most people couldn’t care less. But I’ve felt a little down lately and just don’t feel like doing stuff that would make an interesting blog post. The little flowers matter to me.

          Thanks. 🙂

          • I’m not much for sayings, but . . . “To thine own self be true”. If it pleases you to see something, then it is inconsequential whether anyone else feels the same way, but you can be assured that there is probably at least one person who views your offerings and gets a bit of a “feel good” moment. It’s all good! ;->

  2. Aging pets are very special. Thanks (from Jezzy and me) for spending ng the extra time with Sunny.

    • I hope Sunny still has a long time to go. I have lost pets before, but Sunny is my baby boy. So glad you understand. 🙂

  3. Ruth Ann

     /  May 9, 2014

    Sunny’s my sweetheart. And to think he nearly ripped my leg off when I first saw him! LOL

    • HaHa! He was so afraid of strangers. He just KNEW that you were going to be mean to him. So glad I rescued him… and he rescued me, too! 🙂

  4. They get old so fast don’t they! But, there is something so sweet about the slow walks with an older pet.

    • Anne, it is so different. He always was so energetic and wanted to pull me along, and I was impatient when he wanted to chase rabbit trails.

      Now it is my pleasure to go at his pace so he doesn’t miss out on anything important to him.

  5. Horst

     /  May 9, 2014

    Just got finished reading your last several posts, I haven’t had internet for the past 3/4 days…we’re in Kansas City…SUPER posts and photo’s…..You do find some neat places to Camp… Sunny is lucky to have family like you Guys!!!….Safe Travels…Horst sends

  6. So good to hear from you, Horst. Glad you are back in civilization. 🙂

  7. Enjoyed the plant pictures…not familiar with the last one. Waited on rain all day yesterday as we really need it. Still waiting this morning.
    Hope the campground is not too crowded this weekend.

    • I think we got all your rain, Lynne. I didn’t have the awning tilted enough and it collected gallons of water, which was scary.

      This campground is unbelievable. There is not another soul in our loop. All this extreme beauty and spaciousness… and empty on the weekend, while the Georgia side is cram packed.

      I don’t understand it. And while I love the beauty and solitude, I find myself missing people watching and interacting with other campers. 🙂

  8. Marsha

     /  May 10, 2014

    I like the pictures of nature and other things you notice on your walks/hikes. I do the same thing – take my camera along and snap pictures of things that interest me.

    • Marsha, noticing those little things is the best medicine for me when I am not feeling up to par. It’s like exploring another world of beauty and wonder. Helps me escape all the craziness and worries in the world around me. 🙂

  9. Love the flower lure haha. I didn’t know Sunny was older. Wishing him more years of love from you and slow walks.

    • Wasn’t the lure a hoot? Only one other person noticed it (that I know of). 😀

      Thanks so much for the good wishes for Sunny. I hope he has a long time left and I’ll walk as slow as I need to as long as I need to! 🙂

