A Visit with Kim!

Kim and Sunny

Kim and Sunny

I had been feeling uncharacteristically bored and a little depressed before Kim came by today.

agaricus

An agaricus. Not sure what kind. 🙂

She arrived in a cute little yellow Volkswagen convertible with the top down!  I am kicking myself for not getting a photo of it!  And she brought a gift bag with doggie treats for Sunny and Sheba.

Sunny really surprised me.  He usually barks ferociously at anyone who tries to pet him.  But he loved the attention Kim gave him.

The agaricus' gills

The agaricus’ gills

It was too hot to do much, so we moved our chairs into the deep shade and talked.  Kim has such a gentle, elegant manner.  It’s a delight to be with her.  And, in answer to my questions, she caught me up on her plans for her upcoming very ambitious trip.

Later we took a short walk to the dock and boat launch where Sheba got a chance to get in the water.

Kim’s visit energized me and banished my blaughs. I’m so glad she came!

The lake shore is littered with bivalve shells

The lake shore is littered with bivalve shells

Blackberries are blooming

Blackberries are blooming

Not sure what these are.  Maybe a variety of blue eyed grass?

Not sure what these are. Maybe a variety of blue eyed grass?

Tasty bullbrier shoot -- I ate this tender little guy!

Tasty bullbrier shoot — I ate this tender little guy!

Horribly invasive, but sweet-smelling Chinese privet.

Horribly invasive, but sweet-smelling Chinese privet.

Another sweet smelling invasive -- Japanese honeysuckle.

Another sweet smelling invasive — Japanese honeysuckle.

Sauteing wild onion bulblets

Sauteing wild onion bulblets

Verbena rigida, I think.

Verbena rigida, I think.

 

 

Wild onion bulblets

Wild onion bulblets

Previous Post

20 Comments

  1. Reading your blog is like going for a walk, sans exercise! Thanks for the education, as always.

  2. I’ve seen so much blooming lately, really wishing I knew their names like you can identify! Glad you got some sweet girl time, especially with Ms. Kim!….

    • Carla, I really don’t know that many names! I keep learning! Wish Lynne lived closer. She IS an expert!

      And yes, the time with Kim was special! 🙂

  3. It was a treat to visit with you today. Hope you get to see the Little White House before heading home.

    • Kim, we are definitely planning to see it! We are both looking forward to it!

  4. I loved seeing those bulbets and the little bullbrier shoot that you ate! I have found an easy way to comment so I hope to be back more often than in the past. The campsites there look luxurious compared to many I have seen. Enjoy your camping and hugs to the dogs!

    • So GLAD you found a way to comment!!! I love your avatar! 🙂

  5. Love the curves on the Japanese honeysuckle – so elegant! Would make a good wall photograph with the background blurred.

    Virtual hugs,

    Judie

    • I really need to get a DSLR camera so I can do that. I used to have a very nice SLR back in the stone age of film! I also had gorgeous photos of roses I had taken framed for my bedroom walls. 🙂

  6. It can be done with post-processing procedures. Are you Mac or PC? I haven’t used it because I don’t have a PC, but I think Picasa would be something to try.

    http://www.downloadinfo.co/lp/picasa/142/

    Interestingly, I just unpacked a bunch of framed 11 x 14 prints that I had made thirty or so years ago with a very good Canon (F1) film camera, using ASA25 film for deep colors, and was surprised at how much better today’s pictures come out than then, even under such ideal situations.

    I was shocked to find that my camera is a collector’s item. And, yes, I gave it away years ago to my niece. She said she has it packed away somewhere.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/231189608268?lpid=82

    What a riot!

    • I have a PC.

      Too funny about your camera being a collector’s item. I bet mine would be, too! 😀

      I am amazed at how much digital cameras have improved. Photography used to be an expensive hobby. Now almost anyone can afford it.

      Your comment isn’t showing on my blog and I don’t know why not. I am replying in the little preview window.

      • Ah! I see why now. I had to approve it since it had two links in it!

  7. Guess it was flagged as possible spam. A blog can’t be too careful, ya’ know! ;->

  8. Jo

     /  May 9, 2014

    I see I missed the post about your camping. I don’t know about me sometimes. Looks like a really nice place. What fun to have Kim show up. Can’t wait for her to blog about her next trip.

    Will you be staying long on this trip out?

    • We’ll be leaving this campground Monday, but will then head for FDR State Park so we can tour the Little White House. I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. 🙂

  9. Got to meet Kim someday! Surely our paths will cross, sooner or later!

    Have fun!!!

    • And need to add that I am far from an expert…just know southeastern spring wildflowers….You are the expert…all the knowledge of mushrooms and wild edibles. But we can enjoy plants whether we know them are not!

      • Lynne, I sure was wishing I could ask you about some of the flowers I have been unable to identify. My sister and I help each other a lot, but we are often stumped. I will email you a link to one of her photos and see if you can clear up that mystery for us!

        And I do just love plants even without knowing their names — but being able to name them opens up understanding of their properties and their ecological place. Like solving fascinating mysteries!

