REALLY Warm Sweater! :D

Thanks to Hope for sending me this!  It is one of the very funniest pictures I have ever seen!

I had other things I had planned to blog about today, but will save them for tomorrow.  That photo is so timely as we endure yet another polar vortex freezeout!

For the low carbers who are following my blog, here’s a picture of my breakfast today — a really scrumptious omelet.  It’s also a great brunch idea.

Omelet ingredients.  I microwaved the pepperoni a few seconds before using in the omelet.

Omelet ingredients. I microwaved the pepperoni a few seconds before using in the omelet.

Almost done!

Almost done!

Superb breakfast!

Superb low carb breakfast!

 

 

.

 

.

25 Comments

  1. Bonnie

     /  January 22, 2014

    Ah ha ha you made my day…………..Looking back at your ‘mods’ where did you get the material for your long cushions? They look so comfy, I’m thinking of working the same on mine this spring when I can get past the snow and frozen cover ;-).
    Thank you for your enjoyable reads.
    Bonnie

    • Bonnie, Hope could have posted that photo on her blog and gotten the laughs, but instead she shared it with me. I am so glad. I just howled when I saw it. But I think the woman in the photo needs my fuzzy slippers to complete her outfit!

      I got the fabric for the upholstery at a discount fabric warehouse at about 1/3 of what it would normally cost. If you have one in your area, it’s a great place to look for ideas.

      I originally wanted to do my Casita in red… but when I saw that fabric, all thoughts of anything else flew out the window!

      And thank YOU for reading my blog! 🙂

  2. alex

     /  January 22, 2014

    I love your food!

    • It’s so good! I have gotten so spoiled that I don’t want to eat anything that is not GREAT!

      Thanks! 🙂

  3. Tim

     /  January 22, 2014

    That is a tasty looking omelet!!!!

    • It was! I added a tiny sprinkle of red pepper and celery seed to it to take it out of the realm of ordinary! 🙂

  4. We had an omelet too. The hubby is into making them on our cast iron griddle. He said they are much easier to flip without the pan sides.

  5. I just have to share this too….really brings the smiles on an awfully chilly day down south! Omelets…perfect for any meal! Sounds like an idea for our dinner…keep warm!

    • I’m so glad the picture tickled you. It just strikes me so ridiculously funny!

      Ah yes, omelets are gentle comfort food. 🙂

  6. Old Guy

     /  January 22, 2014

    Omelet looks Good,,I have some pepperoni ,,Gonna try it in the A.M,, Thanks ,,Old Guy

  7. EmilyO

     /  January 22, 2014

    I am going to pretend I am eating your omelet. Jim and I don’t do well on straight eggs, but okay when they are in something like bread. That omelet looked soooo good I may just break down and make us small ones for supper. Yes, the poor girl needs your fuzzy slippers.

    • Maybe a low carb pita would work for you if you are still trying to keep the carbs down? Ron bought some low carb flour tortillas as he has a lot of trouble doing without bread.

      I have discovered that a couple of tablespoons of salsa on eggs helps take away the “too eggy” reaction. I usually top my scrambled eggs and omelets with it, although I enjoyed this omelet without it.

      But she ain’t getting MY fuzzy slippers! 😀

  8. Love that sweater!! Those bare feet made me chilly though, I think she needs some nice warm fuzzy socks. (I don’t do slippers)

    • You could tell that she was posing.. because if she had really been freezing, those feet would have been covered! Or blue. 😀

  9. MarciaGB

     /  January 22, 2014

    Ohh man, that omelet looks really yummy. I think you can get that sweater effect by buying a REALLY big sweater and putting your head thru one sleeve and feet thru the other. Not a bad idea. Take that, Polar Vortex!

    • That’s what was so funny about that sweater. Who would think of putting sweater sleeves over their head and legs and sitting in front of a radiator! My mind isn’t that capable of thinking out of the box. 😀

  10. Love, love, love the sweater!!! Very timely indeed!! Did I say how tired I am of this colder than usual weather??? Well, I’m tired of it!!
    The omlet looks delicious!!! I might have to tweak some of the ingredients. With me taking this Coumadin (Warfarin) I can’t eat things high in vitamin K. What a great breakfast….or any meal!!

    • Gerri, I am heartily SICK of cold weather. Warm weather might just be a couple of months away, but it feels like forever from my perspective. How I wish I were with the crowd going to Quartzsite! (sp?) Or any place warm and sunny!

      I don’t know if egg yolks are allowed for you? If not, I think the omelet would work with Eggbeaters. Basically any veggie you like would work. I just used what was in my refrigerator.

  11. That sweater was a blast for sure. LOL
    I love omelets and that one looks so yummy.
    Not wanting to be mean but I had on shorts today. I am not ready for this.

  12. Up until yesterday, I didn’t read your low carb posts closely. As of yesterday that’s changed – thanks for all the good ideas as I travel the low carb path!

  13. John, I really had no intention of making the low carb cooking such a prominent part of my blog. But since we aren’t traveling now, I started posting recipes to fill the void.

    I am discovering that there are far more people interested in it than I would have suspected.

    Glad to hear that you are one of them! 🙂

  14. I have Michigan friends who would actually love and wear this sweater. Stay warm, whatever it takes.

