Remembering Pearl Harbor, Passport America & Home Remedies

USS Arizona Memorial in Hawaii.  At Pearl Harbor, the USS Arizona suffered direct-hits from four 800-kg bombs dropped by high-altitude Japanese Kates and the remains of over 1,000 crewmen are still entombed in her hull. Even today, droplets of oil still leak to the surface. http://pearl-harbor.com/

USS Arizona Memorial in Hawaii. At Pearl Harbor, the USS Arizona suffered direct-hits from four 800-kg bombs dropped by high-altitude Japanese Kates and the remains of over 1,000 crewmen are still entombed in her hull. Even today, droplets of oil still leak to the surface.
http://pearl-harbor.com/

I don’t know why I am in such a pensive state of mind today.  I’m remembering Pearl Harbor on this anniversary of “a date which will live in infamy.”  Usually I see Dec. 7 on the calendar and I may or may not attach any special significance to it.

Years ago I toured the USS Arizona Memorial in Honolulu.  The visit was profoundly moving as I stood right over the ship that is the grave for over 1,000 sailors and watched the oil slick that is still slowly seeping from the hull.

War really is hell.  I am glad that I do not have any first-hand knowledge of it.

But with all of the ominous rumblings throughout the world, I sometimes wonder how long I will be able to say that.

Moving right along to happier topics, I have all the clothes packed in the Casita for our upcoming trip.  Now all that remains to be packed are toiletries and food.  I’ll go ahead and get the canned and packaged food packed later today.

After I get that done, I want to give the entire house a deep cleaning since we plan to be gone longer than normal this time.  Our plans are to leave December 15th.

I bought a Passport America membership last night.  That will open up a lot of options for inexpensive camping for us.  I absolutely adore the woodsy, rustic, remote Federal campgrounds we usually stay at.  But sometimes I’d like a break from them and would enjoy staying closer to civilization.

Of course, there are a lot of RV parks in Florida that don’t honor PA — or that don’t honor them in snowbird season.  But there are a surprising number that do.

Also, now that I know I can safely leave both Sunny and Sheba in the trailer for a couple of hours, we’ll have a lot more freedom this trip.

Tinycamper's little apothecary  :)

Tinycamper’s little apothecary 🙂

I wanted to report back to those who are curious about how my home remedies turned out.

The frankincense and myrrh balm does seem to have helped.  My thumb joint  is not as swollen and tender to the touch as it was.  But that could be for any number of reasons.  The flare-up could have run its course and calmed down naturally.  I could have an over-active imagination and it could be the placebo effect because I wanted it to work so badly.  Or it may actually have helped.  In any case, it feels better now than it did last week.  😀

I made it in little 3/8 oz. plastic jars I got from Amazon.  A normal salve base is one part beeswax to 8 parts oil (like olive oil — I used almond).  However, the essential oils are so thin and penetrating that the normal recipe turns out almost liquid.  I tried again with a 1 to 4 ratio and it was still semi liquid after adding the esssential oils.  I’m thinking that maybe straight beeswax with that unusually high proportion of essential oils might work.  In any case, to the salve base in the little jar I added 25 drops (1/4 teaspoon) each of frankincense and myrrh essential oils.

The results of the sleeping aromatherapy trials are much the same.  I do think they help me fall asleep.  It could be that I expect them to help, therefore they do. It’s so hard to quantify things like that.  Lavender helped.  Lavender and marjoram helped more, I thought.  Clary sage and marjoram was better.  I finally concocted a recipe of several essential oils that are supposed to promote sleep and I thought that was a lot more effective.

For those who are curious, I ended up with:

10 drops Roman chamomile, 5 drops clary sage, 5 drops bergamot, 5 drops marjoram, 5 drops frankincense, and 2 drops ylang ylang.  I bottled it in a little 1/2 oz. dropper bottle — again from Amazon.

But then last night I couldn’t sleep and nothing helped!  Also I have been breathing so many essential oils lately that they’ve triggered allergic reactions.

So be very skeptical and try at your own risk.  🙂

17 Comments

  1. Your ability to pack so far in advance is beyond my imagination. We’re practically rolling out of the driveway, and I’ll be flinging stuff into the Fireball, “just in case”. It’s getting better, now that we’ve been camping for nearly two years, but I truly don’t think that it’s in my makeup to pack early and efficiently. Enjoy your trip – I would like nothing better than to see your little Casita across a campground from us someday. It would be a blast to meet you and Ron someday.

    For what it’s worth, I get a lot of relief by taking two 1500mg Glucosamine every day. It’s helped enormously with my inflexible joints.

    Happy travels.

    • Judy, I guess I’ve done so much last minute, frantic packing, then gotten down the road and realized I forgot important things that I just like getting it done and having time to think about it. Packing ahead does mean that you have to have some clothes and linens that are just for camping, so once they are packed you can leave them in there.

      I also take glucosamine and MSM and it really helps with the osteoarthritis. I like glucosamine chondroitin better, but it is a lot more expensive. If I don’t take glucosamine for a while, I get a reminder that I cannot ignore! 🙂

      What is sometimes troubling is the rheumatoid (I think) arthritis in my thumb and hands. The glucosamine doesn’t seem to do a lot for it.

      • Rheumatoid is a whole other ballgame for sure with a completely different set of drugs for relief. Much harder to keep in check, I’m sure.

        As for packing, I think I’m missing some genetic component that would enable me to just do it and get it over with. It’s a lame excuse….

  2. My mom and dad were married Dec 10th because of Pearl Harbor. My dad was to be deployed and they wanted to get married before he left. This day always brings back memories for me…some good some not so good. I can only imagine the sobering experience of standing at the USS Arizona memorial and knowing what was underneath and still seeing the oil seeping up. Very sobering!!
    I think your oils must have helped!! I understand it could have been a number of other things but if you are better that is what matters. The reason you couldn’t sleep could have been excitement!! I know you are excited!!
    We have Passport America and they do come in handy!!
    Enjoy your “getting ready” time cause it is almost launch time!! YAY

    • From what I’ve read, Pearl Harbor was an unprecedented national shock. The only thing I’ve ever lived through that I could compare to it was John Kennedy’s assassination and the Challenger disaster. But Pearl Harbor was so much more earth shattering. I can definitely see how it would frighten a young couple with prospects of death and war and fear of the future and make them want to get married NOW. My Mom and Dad met and got married soon after Dad came home from the war.

      You know, Gerri, I honestly believe that it helps if you do anything for a particular problem rather than just let it progress. Whether the thing you do in itself is effective, the fact that you are trying seems to make a difference. There is so much of life that doesn’t make sense, but it works anyway. 🙂

      Thanks for the good wishes. I am definitely excited and anticipating being on the road!

  3. To visit that spot must be amazing and to feel what is under the bridge. What a horrible day that was for so many and I guess still today for some. May they RIP.

    Your oils blow me away. I don’t think I will try to make them. I am very bad at amounts. If one drop is good why not 5. see what I mean. 🙂

    My camper is always packed and ready to roll. Of course now all I need is for the weather to co operate but it sure doesn’t look good for the rest of the month. But I know your excitement.

    • Jo, I laughed out loud at your remark about if one drop is good, why not five? That’s the problem I run into making my own concoctions. And who knows what unintended consequences there might be!

      I sure do wish the weather would cooperate because I’d love to read about another one of your camping trips!

  4. Lv Passport…pays for itself in no time! Won’t be long…crossing fingers smooth sailing for you!

  5. EmilyO

     /  December 7, 2013

    It must smell heavenly around your place.

  6. Pearl Harbor and our wonderful president didn’t find it necessary to mention it even in a Tweet!

    • Our president does not share the history that shaped our people and our nation. I’m not surprised he didn’t mention it.

  7. Horst Kelly

     /  December 8, 2013

    Very nice post…NO matter how many times I visit the Memorial it is always a moving experience…and I still find it unnerving to see oil bubbles rise to the surface every 15-20 seconds, and know its been happening since Dc . 7, 1941. I was humbled that when I left the folks gave me a US flag that was flown at the Arizona Memorial and at Hickam AFB..

    Nice to see you preparing for the upcoming trip…it always gets me in a “positive” mind set…Take care and safe journey…Horst sends

    • Horst, I think our country and its history means a whole lot more to those of us who are older. I used to think I was cut from the same cloth as my Dad, but when I tried to hike the Appalachian Trail, I learned that I did not have the total commitment to a cause in spite of whatever adversities might arise as he did. They were a very special generation, and I think the times they lived in uniquely shaped them.

      What an honor to be given that flag.

      As far as preparing for the trip, Ron has been sick, and I got whammied with it, too, so we will be moving pretty slowly for the next few days. 🙂

  8. I don’t understand your use of the word “sophomoric” in relationship to the oils.

