The project has begun

I had to make an emergency switch in plans and start with the large bathroom instead of the small one.

There is black mold growing along the baseboard in the closet that adjoins the shower stall.  I have watched the problem develop for a long time, but felt absolutely helpless to do anything about it.

But I’ve learned enough from working on the camper that you read up on what you need to do and then just start.

However, I did not watch the Youtube video on “how to remove a shower stall” before I started.

So after I removed the faucet heads, broke off two badly corroded screws, and realized any turning of the wrench would also turn on the water, I told Ron, who was trying to help, “Don’t do anything until I find out how this works.”

So I started watching the video on how to remove a shower stall and discovered the first thing I need to do is cut the water lines and seal them with shark bite fittings.

About that time, I heard a huge gushing of water coming from the bathroom.  Ron hadn’t waited.  So he went outside to the water shutoff and turned the water to the house off.

We also had a load of laundry half way finished.

And now we have a flood.

So I guess we’ll do without water and take showers in the Casita tonight.

I have a doctors appointment tomorrow. After that I’ll head to Home Depot and get some shark bite fittings to cap the water to the shower.

Then I’ll start over.

I used to watch This Old House on PBS and developed a mad crush on Tom Silva.  I’m over the crush, but sure wish he was a next door buddy I could call and ask for a little help.

If we hadn’t just gone into debt for a new roof, I’d just have someone come out and do the work.  As it is, I’ll just take my time.

And thank God for my faith which teaches me, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

🙂

[edited to add that Ron did manage to replace the part he had removed, so we do have water in the rest of the house this evening!  YAY!]

18 Comments

  1. Sorry to hear of this mishap and yes we “can do all things through God who strengthens us” but we do get tested along the way. I have begun looking for Casita’s online and it is almost like they are rare..We are in Southern Cal so we don’t want to go across country for one…

    • Hi Roberta, yes we do get tested. I would never had made it this far if I hadn’t already passed a lot of impossible tests and come out stronger and more confident.

      Used Casitas are hard to find. Sometimes you have to look for many months. But when you least expect it, one will pop up. When it does, if it’s in good condition, grab it because it won’t be available long! 🙂

  2. Wish I was a friend of Tom Silva, so that I could call him and ask him to come over and give you a hand. Funny, YOU are my Tom Silva when it comes to tackling house/trailer repair stuff. My money is on you to win this battle with the shower.

    • Thanks, Judy. What a compliment!

      I have no doubt that I’ll win this battle. It’s just going to be more involved and more expensive than I had originally anticipated. But then, that’s true of all projects. 😀

  3. Horst Kelly

     /  August 19, 2013

    You may lose a battle…or two….but you WILL win the War…and let Ron know he and I are Fix-it “Blood Brothers”…If you go to Home Depot maybe Josh of “House Crashes” will be there and you can have him do your bathroom….it could happens..lol…take care…Horst sends

    • Horst, I read Ron your comment about Fix-It Blood Brothers and it made his day!

      I will definitely keep my eyes peeled for Josh when I’m at Home Depot! 😀

  4. Oh my goodness…bless your heart!! Sounds like Murphy came knocking on the door!! I am so sorry to hear of your delay….note, delay!! You will figure it out and get it all done. Your bathroom will be beautiful!! I so admire your ability to “figure things out.”

    • Gerri, the more I think about it the funnier it gets. I didn’t expect things to go smoothly. It wouldn’t be a challenge if it did! 😀

  5. oh, dear… I know you’ll get er done … but oh, me. how to remove a shower stall. you are something else. as much as I want my bathroom remodeled… I need to remove the bathtub. just going to refinish it and I do have a YouTube.

    I suppose it could be fun. I’m trying to figure out how it could be. some people like to vacuum to relieve stress. hah! I call eating pie fun and stress reducing … but I need to change m’ways. yep

  6. Just think how much easier the small bathroom will be once you’ve finished the big one! You’ll do fine!

    • John, I walked into the little bathroom today, took a good look at it and thought, “This will be a cakewalk after the big bathroom.”

      I’m actually looking forward to the whole thing now. It will take a LONG time, but time is all I have right now! 🙂

  7. I am in aw of you always. I trying to figure out simple things like who can I get to cut wood for the floor of the truck bed. Before I get the shell on there and which bed is best. hahaa
    And your pulling the shower apart and all sorts of watery things. You Go!

    • Thanks for the vote of confidence, Jo.

      I bet your camper will end up being a cozy, comfy place. And you’ll figure out ways to make it better! 🙂

  8. Loved your comment about eating the cheesecake and Almond Joy! I could just feel the sugar rush relaxing all those frayed nerves.
    And you are my inspiration…hope all my good thoughts turn into action once we’re home.

    • Lynne, actually I am very tired. Hope the doctor can do something to perk me up a little bit tomorrow.

      I’m considering putting the blog on hold for a while. It’s fun to write about camping and edible mushrooms and foraging. I totally lack enthusiasm for detailing my home projects.

      But whether I write about them or not, I will get them done! 🙂

  9. MarciaGB

     /  August 20, 2013

    I’m afraid old Murphy’s Law was in action with that shower! Hope the rest of your project goes smoothly. We are Casita camping in Maine for 2 weeks. It’s quiet and peaceful – and thank goodness, nice weather. It’s so good to be away from the daily responsibilities for awhile.

    • Enjoy Maine! Back in the 70’s we had Coast Guard friends stationed at the Portland Head Light. We got to spend a week there. It was gorgeous. That’s my only experience with Maine, but I know that parts of it are gorgeous!

      Wish I could see pictures! 🙂

