Deck Refinishing Schedule Switch

I have looked everywhere for the roll-on Pro-Deck the roofing contractor told me about.  I can’t find it.  The only Pro-deck I can find online is one that you lay fiberglass matting down and roll some kind of resin over.  That’s too big a learning curve for me right now and I don’t want to tackle it.

Rustoleum Restore

Rustoleum Restore

So I went to Home Depot this afternoon and got brochures for Rustoleum Restore and Behr Deckover.

I trust the Rustoleum name much more than the Behr name.  Behr’s deck sealers have been non-ending disappointments to me, as they wear off, then have to be cleaned off before putting on more that will look awful in another year.

But the Rustoleum Restore has a horribly rough finish that I don’t think I could live with.  I’ve read reviews that say it is very hard to clean and that if you move a piece of furniture over it, it will scratch the coating down to the bare wood.  Dog claws can apparently scratch it off, too.

Behr Deckover

Behr Deckover

The Behr Deckover is an acrylic with a much finer non-slip texture.  Reviews are mixed.  Apparently if you carefully prepare the surface, some people have great luck with it.  Others (who maybe didn’t prepare the surface well?) say it’s horrible and doesn’t last.

However, at this point it really doesn’t matter, because which ever product I choose has to be applied to dry wood.  And this has been a very soggy year with no signs of it drying out enough for me to feel confident the wood would get dry enough.  Especially the back deck which does not get full sun.

weather1

weather2

So I refuse to go to all the trouble to prepare and redo the decks unless I have decent weather conditions.  I’ve redone that job too many times already.

So I think I’m going to switch gears and maybe start inside the house.  They are saying that the wet weather is here to stay for a while.  So it might be early next year before conditions are dry enough to refinish the decks with what hopefully will be a semi-permanent finish.  There will be more cracks to fill in, but if the job will last, it’s worth waiting to do.

So I think I’ll start planning to redo the small bathroom first.  Since it’s small, I can learn from my mistakes without spending so much on material.  Then I can put that experience to use in the big bathroom.

I’d much rather be camping!  🙂

12 Comments

  1. I think you made the best decision!! Mike and I noticed yesterday that the rainy weather was here for awhile. We have weeds in the front yard that need to be sprayed but if it is followed by rain it will wash it off. Oh well….I’d rather be camping too!!

    • I think it’s the right decision, too, but I do wish I were more flexible. I had the order I was going to do everything in all figured out. Now my stride is broken and I am madly looking at fabric, tile, paints, faucets, fixtures, etc. online, just to get an idea of what I want to do.

      Once I get a general idea, then it will be time to go shopping for it locally. But it’s going to take a lot longer than I’d like!

      But if the project doesn’t kill me, I think it’s going to be fun! :D.

  2. I love how your through yourself into one project after another…hope I can get inspired once we are home.

    Bathroom redos are so rewarding…good luck!

    • And hopefully the small bathroom will be a more affordable place to start. I found a fabric that is fall-down gorgeous online, but it is WAY too expensive. Hope JoAnn Fabrics has something I can live with after seeing what I really want! 🙂

  3. The deck is probably one project you don’t mind putting off.

  4. I continue to marvel at the projects you tackle…you have more energy than the “Energizer Bunny”…I start sweating just reading your Blog…

    Send me some of your weather…we could sure use some rain…Horst sends

    • Horst, with COPD, I go in spurts with long rests breaks! Just gotta do something or the house will fall in around me!

      Wish I could send you some of this weather. We were in exceptional drought for a very long time before this year’s endless rains!

  5. Julie

     /  August 14, 2013

    I found the ProDeck stuff online — and what a pain that would be. It involves fiberglass strips and resin, etc. Way too much work. Pittsburgh paint makes a non-penetrating stain covering that we have used several times on our deck. We have already turned the boards over too. How long can you go before actually buying new wood? Our deck is 15 years old and still has life left in it. Love your blog – keep it coming.

    • Julie, that’s the same thing I found when I searched for Pro-deck. Our deck is 15 years old, too. With your non-penetrating stain, do you have to strip it before you apply new coats?

      Sometimes I wonder if companies deliberately manufacture non-lasting solutions so you will have to keep buying their products! It does seem that they could do so much better. I have even considered using clear penetrating epoxy on mine!

      I really appreciate your comment on my blog. Thanks for being here! 🙂

  6. Seems we have the same problem. My porch deck is in bad shape so I was planning on using the Rustoleum Restore. I will be throwing mats on the areas that the chairs are on so not worrying about scratching the finish. Of course it’s hotter that you know where here so I figured I would also start on the small bathroom. Then I got sick so I am not doing anything. But taking naps and getting tests. 😦

    • Jo, that’s kind of a coincidence. I feel like I got hit by a truck today and have spent much of the day napping. I’m going to try to hold off on going to the doctor until my appointment the 20th.

      Sure hope you feel better soon. You need to be in tip top shape when your camper is ready for you to pick up! Hugs and best wishes to you.

