Transforming an Ugly Bracelet

medical id bracelet

I removed the medallion on the right and replaced it with a butterfly earring.

I searched a long time for a pretty medical ID bracelet, but couldn’t find one I liked.  So I ordered one with a sterling chain and medallion, even though I didn’t care for the medallion.

So, when it arrived, I cut off the medallion and replaced it with a butterfly earring.  I loved the butterflies, but didn’t enjoy wearing them as earrings.  But I really like them as a focal point for the bracelet.

I was never much for wearing bracelets, but I’m really getting a kick out of wearing this one.  It’s simple, pretty and fun.

Previous Post

16 Comments

  1. Well look at you…making pretties! Simple and creative…butterfly nice touch!

  2. You should put them on the market. Sure many women share your feelings.

    • That’s an idea to keep up my sleeve in case I ever need it, Judy. I’ve always loved making jewelry. I don’t want to do it now, but it’s good to have a Plan B just in case.

  3. EmilyO

     /  July 3, 2013

    Way cool. I like that.

    • Emily, what’s funny is that, although I have always loved making jewelry, I don’t like wearing it. Simple hoop earrings and a ring are usually all I wear. But I have an excuse to wear something fun with this one because it has a purpose. 🙂

  4. Great idea! I love the result

  5. MarciaGB

     /  July 3, 2013

    That looks very nice. It’s hard to find a good-looking medical bracelet, especially one that’s Not too expensive. I have a kid’s purple nylon one – cute but sporty. On the rare occasions I dress up, I ‘d like one similar to yours.

  6. What a great upcycle project!! I LOVE IT!! Make it your own sista!! XOXO

  7. What a clever idea! Makes wearing these not so ugly!

    • Yes, the ugly hides under the wrist. I added a couple of small charms to the bracelet, too. I just love it!

  8. I hear it’s raining and flooding back in our neck of the woods. Glad you could find a past time to fill in the indoor time.
    Lots of rain gets to be depressing after a while….and we are experiencing a long stretch here.

    • Lynne, the rain is never-ending and it is working on our nerves. So the bracelet was an entertaining rainy day project.

      I wondered how you were doing. I was hoping that you were both chipper and enjoying every day. So sorry that you are enduring gray skies, too.

