Introverts and Extroverts, Camping and Travel

As an extreme introvert, I am in awe of people who take whirlwind trips and manage to cram such a tremendous amount of sightseeing and activities into them.

I just read an article that sums up  the differences between extroverts and introverts pretty well.  While they claim it’s a “new” study, I find nothing I didn’t already know in it.  Nevertheless, I thought it would be fun to share this article…. which helps explain why I adore slow walks in the woods and the details of nature — and why rallies and crowds and rushing from place to place overwhelm me.

Scientists claim to have discovered why some people like to spend their nights at wild parties while others prefer to stay in with a cup of tea.

The brains of introverts and extroverts differ in the way they respond to experiences, according to a new study.

The research revealed that extroverts like instant gratification while introverts tend to be distressed by excessive stimulation.

People who are extroverts tend to focus their attention on people’s faces while those who are more introverted tend to pay more attention to smaller details – which could explain why they do not like overly stimulating situations.

Previous Post

26 Comments

  1. I like both. what does that make me?:-)

  2. Have you read The Highly Sensitive Person by Elaine N. Aron Ph.D

    I think this is probably what the Mail is talking about. I hadn’t realised that highly charged environments stressed me until I read it. It is quite empowering to realise that there is actually nothing wrong.

    • No, I haven’t read it, but I appreciate the recommendation.

      I thought I had a major mental or emotional problem because I do get so stressed in highly charged environments. It takes me days to recuperate. It is SUCH a relief to realize that is normal — for an introvert! 🙂

  3. What about “Party of One: The Loner’s Manifesto” ?

    http://www.amazon.com/Party-One-Manifesto-Anneli-Rufus/dp/1569245134/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1371685191&sr=1-1&keywords=loners+manifesto

    Or “Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking” ?

    http://www.amazon.com/Quiet-Power-Introverts-World-Talking/dp/0307352153/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1371685277&sr=1-1&keywords=quiet+the+power+of+introverts+in+a+world+that+can%27t+stop+talking

    Before I read those 2 books, I thought I was alone. Flying under the radar can hurt the more introspective among us. Believe me, it didn’t work in the dog-eat-dog world of academics. At least not for me.

    I now know that the world is full of us. And the world needs us. But doesn’t really value us.

    • Kim, don’t worry about the ads. I got shocked the first few times I posted an Amazon link and it turned into a big ad, too.

      I always wondered why I struggled so in the corporate world, I did my work well, but it literally wiped me out so completely that when I got home in the evening, there was no energy for ANYTHING. I used to marvel at people who could work all day, go out to dinner, dancing or to a movie or shopping. All I wanted when I got home was a hot shower and to collapse into bed! 🙂

      I think I will order all three of the books people have mentioned, just to give me a better understanding of how I function in a warp-speed world!

  4. Whoa! Didn’t realize the links would become full-page ads. Sorry about that!

  5. Another good definition for ex vs int comes from Eisenach. (Can’t remember the doctors first name) An extravert. Talks talks talks and thinks. An introvert thinks thinks thinks and then talks. So very true!

    • What a great explanation! I really wonder at people who always are going full speed and have music, TV, conversation and noise going on from the time they get up until they go to bed. I’ve often pondered, “When do they have time to THINK?”

      • Okay I just googled him. He first name is Hans. You seem to be a Mensa type so he is probably well worth diving into for you. I love his take on int vs ext. you are already booked for further research so take it or not! Let me know what u think It is really good stuff

        • Well, I took the Mensa test once and missed it by a few points. That fried me because my ex passed! 😀

          I will definitely google him… and thanks again!

        • I just did a brief search and found a quote from him that whetted my interest:

          “While it seems counterintuitive to suppose that introverts are more aroused than extraverts, the putative effect this has on behaviour is such that the introvert seeks lower levels of stimulation. Conversely, the extravert seeks to heighten his or her arousal to a more favourable level (as predicted by the Yerkes-Dodson Law) by increased activity, social engagement and other stimulation-seeking behaviors.”

          I see that principle played out in my reading of retirees’ blogs.

          • You have it! I think you would enjoy his work. Wish I could remember the book I read while in psych class.

  6. Kim and rjbuxton, I just ordered the three books you recommended from Amazon. Can’t wait till they get here!

    Thank you again for the recommendations!

  7. Good Luck Duck

     /  June 19, 2013

    I keep getting urged to drive as though mad to meet up with a CROWD OF PEOPLE at the Rubbertramp Rendezvous. I’m sure I’d like those folks, but, maybe I could meet them one at a time?

    • I also am very intrigued by the RTR and think I would like the people — if I could meet them a few at a time. The idea of being surrounded by lots of people 24/7 is kind of overwhelming.

      I read about one girl who attended some get-together. She had a rule… she stayed in her rig until noon and nobody was to disturb her during that time. So she managed to carve out some personal space in the crowd. I thought it was a great idea.

  8. What is so new about this study? Actually nothing. I talk to anyone even if I have never seen them before. Yet I crave alone time and do that well too.

  9. I lean towards the introvert too…think my mind gets full and I crave time to settle it in peace and quiet. Wondering if my need for control plays a part in it. When I get thrown a curve ball it takes me awhile to find a place for it. Going to check those books out and put on my Kindle list. I’m so excited to just get up, knowing I can sit with a clear mind and read a book all day if I want.

    • Carla, you are the first one to vocalize the feeling of thinking so much that your head gets crowded and you must have time to process the thoughts in peace and solitude. And the need to control our environment to keep outside stimulus to manageable levels plays a BIG part in it. I have often wondered if my excessive need for time alone could indicate autistic tendencies. It is so pronounced.

      My books should be here Monday. I am looking forward to reading them!

  10. Walt

     /  June 24, 2013

    I loved Party of One and suspect you may find much in it that resonates. I myself sometimes struggle with determining whether I am an introvert or an extrovert. I often crave time to myself or to “do my own thing,” but I have also experienced the need to have other people around, although not necessarily to interact with them. Perhaps that makes me perfectly imbalanced. 🙂

    It’s interesting that you mention the possibility of autistic tendencies. My 17-year old son is on the spectrum, and my wife suspects that I may be as well, although I’ve never been tested. Oddly enough, I suspect that one or two of her brothers are on the spectrum. Go figure! Now to see if I can find the other two books at my local library.

    • Hi Walt. There are times I function as an extrovert and enjoy being around people. I think, what defines it for me, is that I would rather have a handful of close friends than hundreds of casual acquaintances.

      My books arrived today. I am waiting for a quiet time to immerse myself in them. I am really looking forward to it.

      I will not tell you how I scored on it, but here is an excellent test for determining the extent of any autistic tendencies that you may have. http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/9.12/aqtest.html

      In further reading, I was also surprised to learn that there are a lot of highly intelligent, high-functioning autistics who live fairly normal lives.

      • I found a couple of versions of that test and took both of them. The scores were within a point of each other. I won’t say how I scored, either, but let’s just say my wife’s suspicions may be correct.

