Ft. Pickens

On Ft. Pickens Road - taken through truck windshield

On Ft. Pickens Road – taken through truck windshield

I learned something new about making reservations today.  Normally when I reserve a site online, I list my equipment as a 17′ trailer.  Every campsite I’ve done that with before has included space for the tow vehicle.

Our campsite

Our campsite

Not this time.  We’re in Loop D — the tent/popup camper section.  I chose this site because the photo on the net showed it as being large and private – which it is.  But the driveway is just long enough for the Casita.  The truck extends over halfway across the street when hitched!  So we had to move the truck across the loop to an overflow parking area.  Next time I’ll say I have a 30′ rig.

Behind our campsite

Behind our campsite

And for the second time in a row, I chose a site that faces directly into the setting sun, rendering our awning useless in late afternoon.  Very fortunately, there is a dense stand of shrubs on the west side of our site that gives plenty of shade to sit in, though.

I was just crushed that I wasn’t able to get out and see more today.  But 4 hours riding in the truck with a 40 pound dog in my lap aggravated my hips to the point that I am hobbling.

My 40 pound lapful!  :)

My 40 pound lapful! 🙂

I tried to walk a short trail this afternoon, and had only gotten a few yards out of our loop when I had to turn back.  It was just a little too painful.  I expect that a good night’s sleep on a comfortable bed will go a long way toward easing that situation.

Our site apparently has a resident armadillo.  I am not thrilled with the situation.  It drives the dogs crazy, and the armadillo is so accustomed to people and pets that he has no fear of them.  I just hope he continues to keep his distance.

The resident armadillo in front of our hedge.

The resident armadillo in front of our hedge.

I’m hoping I will have a lot more to share with you tomorrow.  🙂

 

 

 

10 Comments

  1. EmilyO

     /  April 21, 2013

    Guess I spoke too soon. (last post)

  2. Bummer about being sore. Travel days tend to be more rough though. That loop was not as much fun for us as loop A. We had to park the truck across the pad at an angle in A and The others though. Good to hear you have some shade. There are a BUNCH of those Armadillos over there!Hope tomorrow is better.

  3. Hey, I would try to switch sites…know that it’s a pain but people do it all the time. You do not want your time there marred by being in the wrong place. Loop A is very popular but maybe someone cancelled. It’s Monday morning, a perfect time to switch!
    Hope you have a wonderful day!
    I’m laying low and recovering from the rally….

    • Now that we found out how to follow the shade (just move our chairs and table beside the hedge), we really like this site. Especially since much of the campground has cleared out.

      So happy to hear about Sylvester. That’s the kind of cat I think of when I think “cat.” Wish I could have a menagerie that loved to travel — and to stay in the trailer quietly when we left them for short periods!

  4. Hoping you’ve had a good nights sleep…got yourself all stretched out and ready for the day. I’d check on a new site as well. You have the best plan…reminds me to remember which way we are facing…I’ll sure be thinking about you today…beachside 🙂

    • I am doing a lot better today! Will definitely talk to the doctor about new meds when I get home though! I can’t imagine camping without being able to hike — or at least nice, long walks!

      I will definitely be aware of where the sun rises and sets when I make my next reservations!

  5. Jessy

     /  April 29, 2013

    So enjoyed the pictures, thank you! Heading there Next week.

