A Cold Casita and More About Wild Yams

Lynne called today from Salt Springs to ask which replacement converter we had bought.  I was so tickled to hear from her.  Amazingly, our phone connection held, which is better than any cell reception I got when we were down there!  I’m hoping we will be able to get to Florida before they have to leave, but am not sure if we can make it work.

Tonight is predicted to be the first really cold, below freezing night we’ve had this winter.  I have the Casita winterized, but need to bring all the canned and staple foods that I generally leave in the trailer inside so they don’t freeze.

Greene Deane, author and prolific wild edible foods video producer, has tentatively identified my wild yams (from yesterday’s post) as Dioscorea Polystachya.  Due to the immense variability of the leaves, he hesitated to give me an absolutely positive identification, but with that lead, I should be able to name my yams when they come up this year.

What’s cool is, if that is what they are, I’ve added another excellent wild edible to my natural grocery sources!

Here is a quote from Green Deane’s website about it:

One-year-old roots weigh about 3 ounces, two-year-old roots, a pound. The root, in good soil, can grow up to three feet long and weight up to five pounds.  Its flavor is between a sweet potato and a regular potato. It is 20% starch, 75% water, 0.1% B1, and has 10 to 15 mgs vitamin C. The most common use is cooked like a potato. The Japanese prefer it raw. However, varieties can differer and I do not recommend you eat it raw. Cook it, or experiment with it raw very carefully.

6 Comments

  1. I left some things in the trailer up north and I did cover them with a towel and moved them further away from the walls. But there temps have been in the minus for quite some time. I sure hope I don’t have a mess to clean up when I go up. 😦

  2. oh hoping things work out for a FL meet up. exciting toget the ID and now you can think up cooking ideas. Had a girlfriend lunch today and we had sweet potato chips…made me think of you 🙂

    • I hope I survive until we can get out again. I have a horrible case of hitch itch…. need an attitude check, I guess. I used to be happy staying home and gardening.

      I giggled at the sweet potato chips reminding you of me! 😀

  3. Bette Lines

     /  January 19, 2013

    Could you put the food in an insulated cooler and not have to carry them back inside? Just wondering?

    • Bette, I ended up taking the easy (expensive) way out and am just leaving the heat running out there. 🙂

