The Magic of Blogs

I was reading The Travels of Kimbopolo a little while ago where she is camped at Anastasia State Park.

Her photos and account of the area transported me back to all the wonderful times I spent in the St. Augustine area and allowed me to relive them.

That was Dad and Mom’s favorite place to take us when we were kids.  I have photos of my sister and I sitting on a low coquina wall in front of the ocean taken when I was in second grade.  Back then, the coquina was a warm beige color, way before acid rain stained all the stonework black.

Dad used to go oyster hunting in Mantanzas Bay and bring home bushels to roast over a fire in the back yard.

My first boyfriend was stationed at St. Augustine Light before it was automated.

The history of the place transports me back to the original Spanish colony and lets me share their day to day lives, and the lives of all the people who followed after them.

It’s a magical place for me.  And thanks to Kim, I got to go there again today.

6 Comments

  1. cozygirl

     /  November 13, 2012

    Roasting oysters…sounds divine! Only thee once but remembering it was beautiful!

    • Lots of good times and good eating there! Steamed crabs served on a newspaper covered table with butter for dipping was another…. and the best lobster dinner I ever ate! 🙂

  2. Marcia

     /  November 13, 2012

    Anastasia SP is one of our favorites, too. We’ll be staying there next March for the 5th time. We usually stay in Coquina Loop so we can walk to the beach – and it’s nice to be closer to the dumpsters/recycling 🙂 Lots of places to explore around there.

    • I do wish they would allow dogs on the beach… at least by people who pick up after them.

      Not sure when we will get there again, but I hope it’s not too long a time! Hope the next time is the best yet for you! 🙂

  3. Awww, thanks for your nice comments! I wish you could be there in person but the memories sound wonderful.

    I gotta tell ya, I would go back in a heartbeat. I’m not one for staying in one place for an extended period but I would spend the entire 2-week limit there. It was really glorious.

    • If you have time to get off the beaten path, there is the oldest hospital. The doors are tiny because people used to be a lot shorter. And there’s the original Spanish village showing their homes and how they lived their daily lives. I could spend two weeks there and not soak it all in!

      So glad you enjoyed it!

