Poliglow Touchup & Plumbing Mods

Not bad for a 2005 Casita!

It took me most of the week to scrub the Casita and put a couple of coats of Poliglow on it.  I sure don’t work as fast as I used to!  But it feels so good to have it done.  My reason for doing it this week was that it was the last stretch of days in the 70’s that we are likely to see for a while.

A lot of people like to use floor polish like Red Max Pro to restore the shine on their fiberglass trailers.  But since I live in the Deep South and the sun exposure down here is brutal, I’d rather pay more for the Poliglow with its UV protectors.   Since Poliglow is made for fiberglass boats that are out in the sun all the time, I just feel safer using it on my sweet little Casita that I waited so long to get.  🙂

The new toilet water supply cutoff kit from Little House Customs

I had bought the toilet water supply cutoff kit a while back, but hadn’t gotten around to installing it.  So today, with great trepidation, I cut my water line and prayed for the best.

It was amazingly simple!  And, to my surprise, it doesn’t leak!

My reasons for installing it were two-fold.  First, when we flush, we have a very small fresh water leak — from the toilet valve, I’m guessing.  I’ve read that those valves can fail and flood your bathroom with an unstoppable deluge unless you have installed the cutoff valve.

My second reason was so that when we are camping and worry about filling our black tank before our stay ends, I can turn off the water supply and flush with a spray bottle.  I just have to remember to do a very good job of rinsing out the black tank when we finally get to a dump station.

I also bought a hot water bypass kit and a winterizing kit that I plan to install next week.

And I plan to do a storage mod that I saw at the Cherokee rally.

Jean (borderbrae) had removed the slanted raceway board under her rear dinette, replaced it with a straight shelf with a lip to keep things from sliding off.  She also used a tension rod above it to hold larger items in place.  Since she removed her rear dinette, she also added another shelf at bench seat level.

I won’t do the upper shelf since I have twin beds at both dinettes.  But I do want to do two smaller shelves where I can store things I need to carry but don’t need frequent access to.

I was really surprised at how much storage space the slanted raceway boards waste.  They protrude way beyond the wires and water lines they cover.

I’ll post pictures of these mods when I get them finished.

16 Comments

  1. Wow! I am so envious of your Poli glow work! We know that is ahead…..someday! You have been so quiet this week…should have known you were into something big.

    Great post with lots of info for the Casita family!

    • Lynne, I didn’t do a perfect job of getting all the gray streaks off. But at my age, I have learned to choose my battles. Clean and protected and shiny trumped perfection this time.

      Yep, that was why I was so quiet. I was too pooped for anything else!

      I appreciate the attagirl! 🙂

  2. Thanks for the poliqlow tip, Sharon. I’ve been wondering what is best to use~Chuck

    • Chuck, you will find that a lot of people are crazy about Red Max Pro. But since you live in Florida, I would highly recommend going with the Poliglow!

      I haven’t found it in stores. I ordered it online. You will need the stripper and the Poliglow. The kit runs about $69.00.

      Also, if you are doing it for the first time, you need to scrub all of the old oxidation off first. Most people recommend Barkeeper’s Friend. But since mine wasn’t very oxidized, baking soda was excellent at removing the gray streaks, and it doesn’t harm the gelcoat.

      Good luck! Whenever you get around to it. It took me a long time to work up to it! 😀

  3. I continute to be impressed by all the effective mods you do! That is one shiny egg!

    • Thanks, Kim! I used to not understand guys who liked to tinker on old cars… but since I got the Casita, it’s a lot more clear to me. It’s just fun tweaking it.

  4. Emily

     /  October 27, 2012

    Beautiful glow on that little Egg. Have been wanting to try Poliglow, but needed to use up what I have been using for the last 4 years! And I need to do the toilet shut off too. Later. Love getting ideas from other Casita owners.

    • Emily, I get all my ideas from the Casita and fiberglass forums. I learned about Poliglow, the bathroom cutoff, how to fix my warm refrigerator, what size LEDs to buy… I would hate to have to come up with my own solutions to everything!

      I bet your Casita is beautiful based on the steps you take to maintain it.

  5. You are truely amazing. It’s better to take a few days than to kill yourself. Your Casita shines so nice. Can’t wait to see your next project.

    • Thanks, Jo. Sometimes I’m not in the mood for projects, but now I’m anxious to get some more done on it!

  6. Looks like you have been a really busy lady. I agree that Poliglow beats the red max, especially when the trailer is always exposed to the sun. Now that you have it shined up again, it’s time to go camping.:-)

  7. cozygirl

     /  October 29, 2012

    More wonderful hints! Jerry was all over the shut-off and I’m on the lookout for the Poliglow! I told him about the slanted board since we have the same set-up. I did finally find the right size totes for under that bed… Hope you weren’t too sore…that rub, rub, rub makes for a rubdown on yourself :O)

    • Cozygirl, the Poliglow is only available online. It’s not in stores, unless maybe it was a marine store that carries a lot of boat supplies. Amazon also carries it.

      Let’s just say I was happy to have a couple of days of not doing a thing when I finished! 🙂

  8. Looks like nice bit of kit and congrats for doing a good job of fitting it!

