Cherokee to Lake Allatoona

Pretty impressive drive for a flatlander Florida native!

On the way to the rally in Cherokee, I didn’t take any photos.  Mainly because it was my first experience with twisty, winding, steep, two lane roads bordered on one side by mountains and on the other side by white water churning just feet from my window.   I was a nervous wreck!

However, since I knew what to expect, the drive back was simply awesome.  Unfortunately, the white water was on Ron’s side and I didn’t get any good photos through the windshield.  But the mountain scenery was glorious!

We are at Lake Allatoona again this evening.  It is so beautiful and so peaceful.  We’ll be here for 7 nights, then head back home until we leave for Florida in November.  I’ll post pictures of the campground tomorrow.

And, as promised, I’m posting a photo of Scott and Allison and family with their new Parkliner.  It is so much fun to see a young family with a new camper and think of all the camping experiences and memory-making adventures that lie ahead for them.

 

I hope we see them at other rallies.  It was so nice to see little ones being exposed to camping and hopefully a lifetime of enjoying the outdoors.

Scott, Allison & Family with their new Parkliner at the Cherokee rally

12 Comments

  1. Elizabeth in NC

     /  October 14, 2012

    We had planned to take a trip with kin to Cherokee this late summer…but of course, as most all things planned with them, it did not happen. This time the baby was in the hospital. So could not be helped. I love the photos you shared!!

    Like

    • Elizabeth, I wish I had a budget that would have permitted shopping for fun. I so wanted to buy a nice pair of moccasins there. Maybe next trip.

      Wish you could still get there this year. The leaves have not peaked, so there’s still time! 🙂

      Like

  2. Wonderful fall photos. Awesome photos – all of them, but I love most of all, the first one.

    Like

    • Sartenada, it’s really hard for me to capture the height of the mountains with my camera. I thought these shots at least hinted a little at the majesty. So glad you appreciated them!

      Like

  3. Glad you had a good time and didn’t tumble off the mountain roads. Do you think you’ll attend another egg rally? Looking forward to seeing your campsite on the lake.

    Like

    • Kim, I think we are hooked on rallies now. They are addictive! I wouldn’t want to miss another one that was anywhere near where we live!

      But camping alone after we leave the rallies will probably always be something we’ll want to do. Because I do need to unwind after all the excitement! 🙂

      I’ll post about this campsite this evening.

      Like

  4. cozygirl

     /  October 15, 2012

    Lved all the rally posts…looked so splendid! And the young couple with the new parkliner. Liked the windows alot…wondered how an air conditioner works floor side? I’m a fellow white knuckle passenger at times also…glad the trip back put you on the OTHER side :O)

    Like

    • The rally WAS splendid! And it really was thrilling seeing a young family with their very first camper. They had been tent campers until they bought it. It has very sturdy bunk beds that should serve them well for several years. And the windows open from the bottom so they can be left open for ventilation in the rain.

      I didn’t notice the air conditioner! You are more observant than I am! 🙂

      It’s so funny how knowing what to expect takes a lot of the terror away! I just knew we were going to go tearing around a blind curve and go sailing off into the white water on the trip there! 😀

      Like

      • cozygirl

         /  October 15, 2012

        Oh you have to go check out this blog post today…did she ever find some mushrooms!! I told her she should check out your blog… http://dawnandjeffsblog.blogspot.com/

        Like

        • Amazing!!!! Thanks for the link. I will spend a lot of time there later tonight!

          We are still pretty dry, but I found a few the past few days. Plan to redouble my efforts after seeing her pictures! 🙂

          Like

  5. It is fun for me, a mountain woman, seeing someone learn to love the hills! I am so glad this was a positive experience for you!
    And that was an informative mushroom blog from cozygirl! Thanks, CJ.

    Like

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to Tinycamper\'s blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 964 other subscribers
  • Cool Stuff!

  • My Blog Topic Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,041,542 hits