Tugboats and Barges

Tugboat backing barge around a bend

The barge we saw yesterday was heavily loaded and moved fairly slowly.  The one we saw this evening was empty and zipped by at a surprising speed.

Tug at dusk

It’s so fascinating to me to watch the tugs push instead of pull the barges.  And watching them back the barges around a right angle bend is a gripping demonstration of navigational skill.

I’m not feeling up to par, so mostly I hung around the campsite and took it easy today.  While I was sitting outside this morning, I noticed a leaf high in a tree, wildly swinging back and forth, even though there was no breeze.

Mystery leaf resident’s home

I watched it for a while and realized that it must contain a caterpillar trying to work out of a cocoon.  But when it continued on and off all day, I guessed that either the caterpillar couldn’t free itself and maybe his leaf shelter could become his tomb.  Or maybe it is something else altogether.  If it was a caterpillar trying to break free, then he made a mistake in not anchoring his shelter.  Because most of the energy from activity inside the leaf was wasted swinging the leaf.

All that goes to show you that I wasted much of my day pondering the plight of the mystery leaf dweller.  A mind is a terrible thing to waste.  😀

Sheba continues to amaze me with her acceptance of all day confinement in her pen or on a tie-out cable to accommodate campground rules. She will be so glad to get home tomorrow where she can run free!

4 Comments

  1. S Foss

     /  June 19, 2012

    I can’t believe how big Sheba has gotten. She will be a nice size dog for walking with you.
    And her markings are so nice.

    • Shelly, she is such a friendly dog, too. She loves everyone! I discovered that a friendly puppy is a great way to meet other campers in campgrounds. 🙂

  2. Sounds like a lovely way to spend the day (except for the not-feeling-good part).

    • Kim, I just love those lazy do-nothing days once in a while. I feel like I am getting away with something! 🙂

