Camping at Mom’s Place

Casita-scale birthday flower arrangement from Hope

We left Ann’s house after lunch and moved to Mom’s place a mile down the road.

My sister Hope greeted me with a birthday card and a beautiful birthday bouquet just the right size for the camper.  So the removable coffee shelf that Rob built for me has yet another use — flower table!

Mom had visited a friend in the hospital before we got here this morning, then stopped by the furniture store on her way home and bought herself a new mattress.  So Cecil and Ron picked it up for her this afternoon to save delivery charges.

Magnolias high up in the tree

Magnolia closeup taken last year when we were here

 

The magnolias are blooming.  But they are so high up in the tree, it was difficult to get a good photo of them.  So I’ll post a photo taken today, along with a closeup taken last May when we were here for Mom’s birthday.

I kept the dogs in the pen when we first got to Mom’s.  But later this afternoon I relented and let them out.  They headed for the cool dirt underneath the trailer.  Sheba, of course, started digging a cool spot to lie in until I scolded her and put a stop to her project.

There is bare sand covered with fallen leaves underneath the live oak trees, so a hole on the edges of Mom’s property isn’t the disaster it would be elsewhere.  Especially a little hole.  🙂

I’m not digging, Mom. Honest!

Sunny with a leaf hanging from his muzzle

Half a tea ball makes a perfect sink strainer

Parked at Mom’s place

 

I had been looking for a strainer for the camper’s sink, but hadn’t found a store that carried them.  But while we were grocery shopping, I found a mesh tea ball that I thought might work.

I got it home, took the two halves apart, and it just happened to be the perfect size!  No more coffee grounds in the gray water tank now!

 

Previous Post
Next Post

6 Comments

  1. kathynik

     /  May 11, 2012

    Happy Birthday! Beautiful roses! And beautiful magnolias! So glad you are enjoying your trip! I’m amazed at the park-like setting at your mom’s house and at Ann’s. Plus Ann has that pond! I’m assuming no alligators could be in there! It was cute to see Sheba in the water. She looked like a newfie – although they get pretty big! And I get a kick out of her white paws. I’m glad Sheba and Sunny get along and hope it continues. Yes, you were brave to take on a puppy! She must have some terrier in her if she wants to dig! That may be difficult to overcome, although I’ve read that long walks are a remedy.

    I wonder how small the A-liner would look to you now. Oh, yes – leave it to you to find a tea ball strainer for your sink!

    • Thanks for the birthday wishes! I thought those were the prettiest roses I’d ever seen! And the magnolias look and smell heavenly. We’ll have to get the ladder and try to pick some for Mom to put in the house.

      Yes, Mom and Ann’s property does look like a park. I asked Cecil why no alligators in their pond and he said there is so much fenced property around that they would have to run a real obstacle course to get into it. They live about 5 miles from the river.

      I knew that Sheba liked water, but I was surprised at how she just dove in and swam like she was born to it. Little Sunny does feel neglected sometimes. He always had my full attention before. But I have to spend so much time with Sheba that Sunny acts pretty dejected sometimes. But they do love to play together, and I think they probably always will.

      The digging is a challenge. I’m not sure what I’m going to do about it. I guess just keep plugging away correcting her when I catch her, keeping her entertained, and as you said, long walks!

      I would hate to have to go back to the Aliner. The Casita is small, but the way we have it set up makes it seem a lot bigger. We can walk past each other without having to take turns moving around.

      Ah, the tea ball strainer. I look at everything from the perspective of would it work in the camper now. 🙂

  2. Looks nice and peaceful!

  3. Happy Belated Birthday. Hope you had a fantastic day. Thanks for the explanation of how the comments section worked on blogger. It was driving me nuts. I could see most everyone else’s comments, but not mine. And your explanation was the reason. I access most everyone else’s fron the post itself. Thanks, again. Have a great time with your family.

