Mods, Another Valance & Packing to Go

The new carbon monoxide and smoke detector

I got the new carbon monoxide and smoke detector installed today.  It was a lot larger than the original smoke detector, and wouldn’t fit in the same spot.  So I mounted it on the rear side of the wall divider.

Also, the previous owner had installed a paper towel holder over the dinette.  Since I’ve changed it to a sofa bed, it really looked funny there.  So I removed it (including the two HUGE screws the previous owner screwed into the fiberglass) and moved it to the right of the stove where I had mounted my dish towel rods.

I couldn’t find a really good place for the dish towel rods.  I finally settled on the right edge of the kitchen backboard.  When I raise the stove cover for cooking, the towel rods will swivel out behind it so they will be protected from possibly catching fire.

The rear valance is up.

AND…. I got the rear valance hung.  I am so glad to have it done!  I’ll get the two small window valances done when we get back from our trip.

Today I turned the refrigerator in the Casita on so it can cool all day tomorrow.  Also, it’s supposed to get down to 27 tonight.  Since we de-winterized the water system again yesterday, I’ll leave the heat running in the trailer all night with cupboard and bathroom doors open.  That should let plenty of heat reach all the water lines.

Rear valance closeup

Paper towel holder mounted to the right of the stove hood with kitchen towel rods below

Removed the paper towel holder from above the sofa bed

So we’ll get the trailer packed tomorrow and head south Tuesday morning.  We are really looking forward to getting out again!

Previous Post

16 Comments

  1. Looking great. I can’t wait to see all your handiwork up close and personal next month.

  2. Camilla

     /  February 19, 2012

    Looks great! Npw come do mine!

    • If I ever get this one finished, I guarantee you I will not ever do anything to a Casita unless I can buy the materials off the shelf… premade! 🙂

  3. Tina

     /  February 19, 2012

    Looks great!!! I will have to write down these ideas.

    • Tina, you will probably come up with even better ideas. There is a LOT of inspiration on the Casita boards!

  4. Looks great.
    Have fun on your trip and enjoy your tinycamper. I just love it.

  5. Hazel

     /  February 20, 2012

    So lovely and neat too! This seems to be one of the joys of owning a Casita: the challenge of living in a tiny space! Every owner seems to have a different perspective too; one’s into techie mods, another does oak mods, another does decorating. It’s awesome to see all the different takes on Casita living!

    We leave tomorrow to pick up our ‘new-to-us’ Casita, MEGG. Ask me how excited I am!!! lol It’ll be a 3 day excursion with one night as a test camp. Wish us luck!

    • Hazel, I LOVE tiny spaces. Always have. I also went though a phase where I loved tipis and yurts. There’s something so comforting about a human-scale dwelling. 🙂

      I think modding a Casita is a way of expressing a person’s dreams and priorities on a small scale. Some want nice looking. Some want a bare bones shelter to get them out of the rain and mud after a day of hiking. That’s the joy of it!

      GOOD LUCK on picking up MEGG!!!!!!!! I know how excited you are! Enjoy every minute of the journey!

      • Hazel

         /  February 20, 2012

        I’m obsessed with tiny spaces too! One of my fave sites is tinyhouseblog.com

        Thanks! Enjoy your Casita trip too.

        • I LOVE tinyhouseblog.com!!! And if you want to spend an evening of just fun surfing, do a search for gypsy vardo or gypsy wagon. Then click the images tab.

          When I showed my sister the vardos, that’s when she got the bug and decided she MUST have a van!

  6. How did you attach the towel rack? It looks like will work well there. We have our paper towels where you have put yours and it works well.

    • Hi! Good to see you here! 🙂

      I attached both the paper towel holder and the towel rack with 3M sticky pads. They stick amazingly well. And if you ever want to remove them, you can — although it takes a bit of work.

  7. S Foss

     /  February 20, 2012

    It is looking so nice, and you are being very thoughtful about where things are going and how things look. You should be very proud of the job you have done. I really love the tone on tone fabric you have chosen. Have fun on your trip.

    • Shelly, your bathroom is the most gorgeous one I have ever seen in a Casita. Real pizazz and style! And COLOR beautifully, tastefully done! Can’t wait to see the rest of it!

      Rain is predicted at Lake Seminole this week, but we don’t care. We just want to get outta here! Thanks for the good wishes! 🙂

