One Valance Up

Casita mods - window valance

The first valance is up

The first valance is finally up.

The reasons it took so long are:

1.  I don’t like to sew;

2. I didn’t know what I was doing, so was making it up as I went along; and

3. The work was so tedious that I had to take frequent (long) breaks.

But it’s finally done, and the others should go faster since I know what I’m doing.

A closer look

I had hoped they would be more eye-popping, but at this point I am just relieved to have something that matches on the windows!

I had bought some nice oil rubbed rods to use, but they were too short for the long windows and I couldn’t find a match in a larger size.  Then I planned to use velcro, but just didn’t like the idea.

Finally I bought the smallest Command hooks I could find, stuck them to the blinds top, then sewed little loops on the backs of the valance to hang them with. [on edit – the little Command hooks come 40 to a package.  I found mine at Walmart.)

This photo shows the tiny Command hooks and the sewn-on loops.

I am hoping to have the valance for the large rear window finished before our camping trip next week.  The two small windows will have to wait until we get back.

And once all of the valances are done, the decorating phase is finished!

(Except for new flooring, but that’s a LONG way down the road.)

24 Comments

  1. Camilla

     /  February 15, 2012

    Sure looks like you know what you are doing to me! Looks great!

  2. I never sew–okay so maybe a neckwarmer and a baby blanket or two–but those look professionally done to me.

    • I really like your website, debtfreedecorating. Glad you visited my blog, too! 🙂

      I think part of my problem may be that I am just tired of working with that material!

      • I understand. I need a menu plan SO bad, but it took me for.ev.er because I just was so sick of doing it. Thanks for taking a peek at my blog. Several years ago, we seriously considered buying an rv, leaving all our stuff on the curb (not literally) and living on the road for how ever many years we wanted to–kids and all. We just couldn’t find a way to make a living doing that. If this blog ever ends up making money, we might reconsider.

  3. theresa p

     /  February 15, 2012

    sharon—they look terrific!!! you have done such a nice job with your remodelling. 🙂

    • I appreciate that wonderful compliment, Theresa!

      I tend to be so hypercritical of my work. I was just looking at the pictures again. I was hoping the little pleats would look more flirty and less conservative. But they are starting to grow on me! I’ll probably be in love with them in a week.

      My secret hope is that someday we can fulltime — or at least semi-fulltime. So that’s why I’m trying to make it look like a micro condo. 🙂

  4. Marsha

     /  February 15, 2012

    Sharon, you did a great job with the valances. They look very nice and I’m going to steal your idea for attaching my valances to the blinds. Your Casita interior is looking very one-of-a-kind and quite put together. You are truly an inspiration.

    • Marsha, I’d be thrilled if you steal the ideas!! I have stolen so many from the egg boards over the years!

      You might be able to get away with using little plastic rings from Hobby Lobby. But I was afraid they would be too thick for the tiny Command hooks, so used skinny elastic to make my loops.

  5. Hazel

     /  February 15, 2012

    Your upholstery job, cushions, AND valances are wonderful! Your choice of colour and pattern is perfect for a small space. You’re doing a fabulous job of making it homey but classy. (And I may have to steal some ideas…! ;-))

    • Hi, Hazel,

      The fabric choice was a happy accident. I had gone looking for another color when I saw a rack with those two fabrics displayed together, and I thought, WOW! That’s it! So I guess it’s serendipity!

      You are welcome to steal all the ideas you want! Even if people use the same ideas and the same fabrics, the results are always delightfully individualistic. It seems that ideas spark ideas and they just keep improving!

      • Hazel

         /  February 16, 2012

        Thanks, Sharon. We pick up MEGG next Tuesday and then the nesting will begin! 😉 For now, I’m collecting great ideas like yours. Enjoy your trip next week.

        • Oh my goodness! Tuesday will be here before you know it!!! And what a cute name for your Casita!!!

          I am excited and thrilled for you. It feels like waiting for Christmas when you were a kid, doesn’t it? 🙂

          • Hazel

             /  February 16, 2012

            Heehee…better because I know I’m getting what I want! 😉

  6. WOW!
    I could never even come close to making anything like that. I love the pleats. I was lucky to finish covering the foam for the back of the sofa and of course I didn’t remember to buy batting until I was almost finished sewing on the cover. Bet it would have been much easier to work with. I had to hand sew that cover since I don’t have a machine and I wouldn’t have known what to do anyway. I am just falling in love with your Casita.

    • JoJo, my sister didn’t do any sewing in her van, and she has pleats. She just stapled them down to a board! So you can do pleats! 🙂

      I do a lot of hand sewing, too, but I can’t imagine sewing a sofa cover!

      What is so special about the Casita now is that it feels like “HOME” every time I open the door and walk into it.

      Can’t wait to see what kind of van you get!

  7. ukulefty

     /  February 16, 2012

    Your Casita is really looking sweet now with all your personal touches and finishes! Great job. it really is a home away from home!

  8. Thanks, ukelefty. I plan to take my ukulele with me next week and hope to buckle down to some serious brushing up on it.

    I’ve just let the camper and camping related things push it to the back burner, unfortunately!

  9. I think Casita should hire you not only as a decorating consultant, but also as an expert for improving and maximizing interior space. I’m so impressed with your ideas and solutions to problems! Everything looks great!

    I must mention here that one of the reasons I discovered your blog iwas through Gina (Brummett) the “Tatting Goddess”, who had added your blog to her Blog Roll, so I’m always aware of your updates, and I certainly enjoy reading about your travels and adventures – and also, of course, seeing your tatting! However, we in TatLand were devastated to learn that Gina passed away on Monday, February 13, at the young age of 62. Because of your interest in tatting, I thought you would like to know.

    • Kathy, do you suppose Casita would give me a new trailer in return for decoration inspiration? 😀

      As always, I appreciate your comments.

      Gina was my largest referrer. When WordPress sent me my stats in January, I wrote Gina and told her that and thanked her. And I apologized for not having more tatting posts. She very graciously responded that everyone has a life apart from tatting, and that she was sure some of her readers enjoyed the camping posts.

      Such a gentle, generous response.

      I had no idea she had passed away until I was updating my tatting links a couple of days ago and stumbled on mention of it on several blogs. I was devastated.

      I never met Gina in person and I never spoke with her on the phone. But several times she encouraged me when I was almost ready to give up on learning to shuttle tat. And she always had an encouraging word to say.

  10. Carla

     /  February 21, 2012

    Wow what a great way to hang the valance! You made it so simple and it looks great! I can’t wait to get one to decorate myself.

    • Carla, I hope you get one soon. We love our little Casita more every day, and decorating one is so much fun!

