New Owner Maintenance

Today we sanitized the Casita’s water system.  We drained the old water out, mixed bleach with fresh water, filled the water tank, ran it through all faucets and the toilet, then let it stand for 4 hours and drained it again.

The water heater had quite a buildup of minerals in it, so next we ran a vinegar solution through the system and turned on the water heater.  When the water was hot, I turned it off and am letting that solution dissolve the minerals overnight.  (Kind of like running vinegar through your coffee maker to remove mineral buildup.)

Tomorrow morning we will drain that and flush with fresh water, then we should be good to go with fresh, clean water in the tank.

We also leveled the trailer so I could turn on the refrigerator.  I’m sure it will need some tweaking, as the previous owner had the setting on 5, which indicates it wasn’t cooling as well as it should.  But there are so many fixes detailed on the Casita Forums, from removing oxidation from contacts, to tightening fittings that have worked loose, to angling a baffle so air flows properly over the coils, and so on, that I am sure I can get it operating at proper temperature.  I dealt with those same issues on the Aliner.

Next I want to give it a good deep cleaning… then next week start on the twin bed mods.

I’m planning to do everything so that they can easily be undone and the trailer restored to original configuration in the event we sell it some day and the buyer prefers to have it look as it did when it came from the factory.  I’ll carefully store the tables and cushions in the house.

The little Casita is really starting to feel like OURS now.  It feels like it has been such a long wait for her, and we just feel better and better about our new little mini motel on wheels!

Previous Post

10 Comments

  1. Terry

     /  November 5, 2011

    A fascinating description of your water system purge. Lots of good practical advice there. I look forward to reading about other steps you take to make your trailer your own.

    • I thought that was probably the most boring blog post of all time, and it didn’t even have photos.

      So glad you found something worthwhile in it! 🙂

      • Worthwhile? Yes indeed. I recommend that you send a link to this post to the Casita forums. In all the time I have been reading them, I do not remember seeing something as “mundane” — and critical — as this.

  2. Karen

     /  November 5, 2011

    Your new home looks fab. Looks like you’ll be traveling for the holidays! Karen in OR

    • Thanks, Karen. I was so afraid we would have to miss the trip home this year. Now I’ll be giving Casita tours to relatives and friends!

  3. I tried leaving a comment yesterday but I don’t know what happend to it. I am so happy you found the Casita. What a pretty little thing she is. I know you will have it looking and feeling just like you picked it up at the factory, ordered to your specs. Enjoy and be safe.

    • I appreciate the good wishes, JoJo. She IS a pretty little thing, isn’t she?

      I don’t know why my fascination with tiny living spaces, and I’m sure a camper that size would be torture for a lot of people. But to me it is a dream come true!

  4. Terry, for some reason WordPress is not letting me reply directly to your last comment (nested).

    I have read many “how much bleach to sanitize” posts on the fiberglass forums. I visit both Casita Forums and Fiberglass RV forums, so I’m not sure where I read specific information. I also read a post or two on using vinegar to remove minerals from the water heater.

    So the information is all there. I think the only thing new that I might have contributed is detailing doing them both the same day.

  5. I share the same fascination with small living spaces. I wonder where that comes from?

    Anyway, I’m so excited for you! And glad the Casita found a loving home.

    • Kim, I’m not sure where the fascination comes from, but sometimes I think it’s a lot like playing house. 🙂

