Marmalade and a Tatted Wreath

Orange-lemon-fig marmalade

The orange/lemon/fig marmalade I made the other day turned out GREAT.   It’s sweet with a delicious tang.  I made 9 jars plus a small bowl for immediate use.  It has such an unexpected piquant zing that it would also be a good complement to Indian or oriental foods.  Usually a batch of jam or jelly will last me a couple of years.  This marmalade will probably not last 6 months!

I started tatting again on my doily the other day, but got so bored at the repetition and the seemingly endless outer row that I put it away until the long winter nights get here.  Instead I did a simple little Christmas motif that will go on a Christmas card.  I plan to concentrate on projects that work up quickly and give me instant gratification for a while!  🙂

Simple tatted motif for a Christmas card

3 Comments

  1. Jane S

     /  August 14, 2011

    What a delicious post! Glad you had such a nice time with your visitors, guests that cook dinner are my favorite kind. 🙂

  2. Jane, it was a first for me. Instead of feeling like the hostess, I felt like a pampered guest! 🙂

  3. Had to delete most of this post as a family member wants all references to her deleted from my blog. This is for future readers who wonder what the food comments have to do with marmalade and tatting. 🙂

