The New Mainland Ukulele

My beautiful new Mainland ukulele

My ukulele arrived today, and it’s more beautiful than I expected.  I had thought the ropework was a solid color, but it actually looks like thin layers of wood sandwiched together.

The gloss finish is beautiful!  I can’t find any imperfections in it.  And Mike at Mainland Ukes set it up perfectly for me.  The intonation is perfect.

I’m thrilled.  But I have a LOT of work ahead of me to make it sing like the guy playing Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head in my previous post!  🙂

Beautiful gloss finish!

Mainland Uke head

Closeup of rope inlay

Nice low action

4 Comments

  1. It IS beautiful! My grandma played. She only taught me the piano though.
    May you two have a beautiful and musical life together!!!!

  2. Ann

     /  May 6, 2011

    Happy strumming!

  3. That really is a beauty!!!! Totally jealous. I wasn’t a fan of the roping design when I first saw them but it’s certainly growing on me. It’s very country, haha! The Mainland is definitely on my shortlist for the uke I am going to buy (or invest in as I tell the missus) next!

    • The roping design looks a lot better in person than it does in most pictures I’ve seen of it. It IS a little country looking, but I like the visual interest it adds.

