Low Carb Chicken Tenders – Meal, Salad & Snack

Low Carb Chicken Tenders

Low Carb Chicken Tenders

Recipes for low carb chicken tenders are on almost every beginner low carb website on the net.  They are amazingly simple to make, and no one would ever guess they are “diet food.”  I’m including them here only because not many of my readers spend a lot of time at low carb diet boards.  :)

At some point, every new low carber will start craving something breaded and fried.  And even long-time low carbers sometimes miss an occasional junk food fix.

Here’s a legal solution!

Ingredients:

Fresh or frozen chicken breast strips
1 beaten egg
dry grated parmesan cheese (the kind in the plastic jar)
Oil for frying

Cut chicken breast strips into bite sized pieces.  Dip in beaten egg.  Put 1/2 cup parmesan in a bag and drop chicken pieces into bag, shaking to coat, adding more cheese as needed.

Fry chicken tenders over medium heat.  (High will burn the cheese.)  Cook just till white, moist and tender inside.  Drain on paper towels.

Chicken tenders in salad.

Chicken tenders in salad.

The cheese is pretty salty, so you might not need additional salt.  If you do, sprinkle the salt over the tenders while they are draining on the paper towels.

You can use the tenders as a main dish for a simple meal, in salads, or just as a snack.  I use spicy brown mustard with a little splenda stirred in to make a “honey mustard” dip.

The tenders are very portable and are easy to pack along for lunches or picnics.

.

.

13 Comments

  1. OK now I have to try this one too1 haha I need to buy some ink for my printer so I can get all these great ideas printed and put in my 3 ring binder. Thank You again

  2. EmilyO

     /  February 1, 2014

    Love mine on a salad. Gives the crunch I look for. Glad I have eaten.

    • Emily, I know to eat a big meal before I go looking for recipes and menus. Just seeing the photos and reading about the food will make me so hungry I will raid the kitchen if I’m not prepared! Sometimes I do anyway! :)

  3. Thanks for the recipe. I’ll be making these soon and I’m not eating low-carb right now. LOL

  4. Boy, these look great, I’ll have to try this!

  5. Horst Kelly

     /  February 2, 2014

    I think we have the makings of a “Super Bowl’ appetizer this evening….thanks for the recipe…stay warm…another blast is coming your way…I think…Horst sends

    • Hope you like the chicken tenders. Don’t forget the dipping sauce! Blue cheese salad dressing is another option.

      It looks like the bitterly cold weather is past, but we are in for a lot of rain. I’ll keep hibernating for a while!

      • Horst Kelly

         /  February 2, 2014

        I have found salad dressing that have ZERO calories, fat, etc…. and it doesn’t taste like Elmer’s glue…made by Walden Farms…really is good…..they make about 8-10 different kinds, including bleu cheese……its going to be 28 degrees tonight and looks like its heading east….take care Horst sends

        • I have a new bottle of Walden Farms Maple Syrup in my refrigerator! Had not checked to see if they had low carb salad dressings. :)

  6. Old Guy

     /  February 4, 2014

    Hello My wife made these..She crushed some Pork Rinds to add to the Parm for breading before frying..They turned out GOOD..thanks for sharing..Old Guy

    • So glad you liked them! I had a mini disaster in creating something new and different tonight, so I won’t be posting that recipe! :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

