Housebroken in Two Days

Sheba

When we first brought her home, Sheba did little puddles and jobs all over the house.  I put puppy pads down, put her on one, and from then on, every little piddle was bullseye on the pad.

The little jobs were another matter.  Some were half on and half off the pad, and some missed it by 6 inches.

But today, it’s been bullseye for both jobs.

I am incredulous.  This is the first young puppy I have ever had, and I expected house training to be a very long drawn out, very messy affair.  But it’s a done deal after two days!

She is a funny looking little thing.  I don’t think her face looks like a puppy at all.  More like a little ape or something!

She has the sweetest disposition — very anxious to obey and please.  That’s another surprise.  I expected her to be a little hardhead that would take lots of patient training to teach her to be a civilized member of our family.

She has a very definitely expressed preference for Ron.  That works out great because Sunny is my dog and he is feeling a little insecure since she arrived on the scene.  So I can make a big deal over what a wonderful dog he is, while Sheba lies at Ron’s feet.

I tried to walk her on a leash for the first time yesterday.  No way was she going to have any of that!  She tugged, rolled and fought it with all her might.  So I remembered how my Aunt Dot told me that she got a puppy used to a leash.  She cut the leash to 18″ long, clipped it to his collar, and let him drag it around the house for a few days.  By then the dog had learned to completely ignore it.

So I cut an old leash last night and clipped it to her collar.  Today she seems to be totally unaware that it’s there.  So maybe tomorrow I’ll try a leash lesson again.  🙂

She does have a ferocious bark when she is playing with Sunny.  I think giving her some kind of puppy socialization classes will probably be essential.

It is so strange adopting a dog when we have no idea of her lineage and potential size.  I am hoping the lady we got her from did not tell us a fib about how big she might get (a little over knee high).  I am picturing her growing up to be an 80 pound dog (or 100?) and wondering how on earth we will fit her in the truck and in the Casita.  But we will find a way!

All we know is that based on what we can tell of her personality at this stage, we chose the right dog!

Previous Post

15 Comments

  1. Camilla

     /  March 24, 2012

    She’s darling! What I do now that the dog got the hang of a puppy pad is start moving it a bit closer to the door everyday until its finally outside.

    Like

    • Thanks, Camilla! She accidentally went outside today while she was playing, but I doubt she connected it yet. Moving the pad sounds like a great way for her to associate “going” with outdoors!

      Like

  2. kathynik

     /  March 24, 2012

    I love Sheba’s white paws and cute button eyes!

    We don’t own a dog, so I definitely can’t give you advice, but we have observed a lot of impressive methods used on the very popular Dog Whisperer (Cesar Millan) TV program on NatGeo Wild. Cesar has common-sense advice for raising dogs, on his website. I think getting Sheba used to the leash is a great idea (Cesar has done that) and one thing I”ve observed on the program is that the owner must always go out the door first, with the puppy/dog following. Same with going back inside. She should learn that you are the ‘leader’. And on walks she should be beside you, not in front. Cesar also recommends walking dogs together – every day! And he has good methods for introducing dogs to each other. It’s important to get off to the right start!

    Sheba is very lucky to have found you!

    Like

    • Kathy, thank you SO MUCH for that site. Sheba started whining tonight and worked herself up into a hysterical frenzy. I am at my wits end. Ron is home so she has calmed down. Going to try to get some sleep now, but I will comb that site top to bottom tomorrow!

      Like

  3. S Foss

     /  March 24, 2012

    Sharon, don’t be too sad if you see a stray poop. It’s kind of unheard of to have them trained so quickly. I hope thats the case and it sounds like you have a very smart baby! Ceasar is brilliant with all kinds of dogs, I am sure anything you find on that site would be of great use. Nothing better than the smell of a puppy!

    Like

    • Shelly, I won’t be devastated if I see an accident. What just thrills me is that she already knows where she is supposed to go.

      I have so much to learn about raising a puppy. Am so grateful for some guidelines and support!

      Like

  4. Bob Latterman

     /  March 25, 2012

    That ‘lil pup may take up half of your trailer… LOL !!! (scary thought…. but you need to be prepared for such things 🙂 )

    Like

    • Bob, I am already mentally preparing for the possibility, and it’s pretty staggering!. Hope she keeps her runt characteristics!

      Like

  5. Bob Latterman

     /  March 25, 2012

    don’t get me wrong… she is very cute and will probably make a great travel dog… 🙂 Dogs are fun to take on trips and they ‘live’ for the outdoors…

    Like

    • I didn’t take you wrong. It’s a very valid thing to be prepared for.

      I don’t think i’ll have any problems with wishing I had a bigger dog to go on walks with, though! 😀

      Like

  6. That Sheba is a furry doll. Things will level out in time.
    How great of you to adopt her….she may not have gotten such a loving home
    as yours. Love her little face!

    Like

    • We NEEDED another baby, Linda. Funny how you feel like your family is lacking something sometimes? Well now I feel like my family is complete!

      What just thrills me is how she has taken to Ron and how much it means to him. He is like a proud papa again! 🙂

      Like

  7. claireokc

     /  March 25, 2012

    OMG – she is so cute – puppies just go right through you though. This explains why there’s such fascination with wolves and coyotes in the wild – mankind must have some sort of bond with these animals. I do/did a wonderful training with my dog – sort of like the Dog Whisperer’s and the thing I like about it, is that it’s harder on the owner than the dog AND you never (or hardly ever) say a bad word to the dog, so the dog’s spirit is completely intact, only the dog does what you want. Dogs & Casistas must go together like horse & carriage!

    Like

    • Claire, I have always been fascinated by wolves. I kind of feel like I have a sweet little wolf sharing my campfire now.

      I can’t start puppy training until she is 8 weeks old, and we have a trip coming up in April. I might see if we can get into one of those classes anyway and move the trip back a week or two. She is sweet, but she is also very strong willed. Last night I had some problems coping with her hysterical whining. I think she may have been processing the loss of her mother and siblings.

      Like

  8. What a face. WOW She is so cute. @ days is great. Wish you all the best.

    Like

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to Tinycamper\'s blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 964 other subscribers
  • Cool Stuff!

  • My Blog Topic Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 1,041,530 hits